i’m an early bird and 6 reasons to start running

This week has been incredibly busy, as you can probably tell from my lack of consistent posts. I’m sorry about that! Last night I was gone from my house from 8 am to 10:15 pm and I’m sad to say that none of those hours involved working out. Which made me really sad because I had an interval workout that I wanted to try out. I decided to switch my daily schedule around and work out in the morning, for a least this week, so that I wouldn’t miss another workout!

So I got up at 5:30 this morning and headed to the gym. It was wonderful! Not very many people, a lot fewer people there just to show off and I don’t think I saw one high schooler. I may have to make this a regular occurrence. I really honestly do prefer working out in the morning to the evening. It’s such an awesome start to my day and then I get to sit here and think “yeah..I already worked out today”.

But I digress.

I found this interval workout on Pinterest earlier this week and I really liked it! I think to make it a little more challenging I would have increased the times at each interval a little more or increased the speeds just a bit. But it definitely got a good sweat going!

Pinterest Treadmill Interval Workout

1 minute: 5.0 (speed)

1 minute: 5.5

1 minute: 6.0

1 minute: 6.5

1 minute: 7

1 minute: 7.5

1 minute: 8

2 minute recover: 4.5

Repeat 5 times

Total Miles: 5.59 including cool down (grr. I wanted it to change to 5.6 so badly)

Total Time: around 55 mins (including 5 minute cool down)

Overall, I think it was a pretty good workout. It was good for my first “Pinterest workout”.

The last couple of days my mom has been posting things on my Facebook wall. Since my mom shares pretty great information, I thought I would pass it along to all of you. Here’s some motivation:

20130320-161040.jpg

She also shared with me this great article entitled “6 Reasons to Start Running”. Here are the highlights in case you’re in a hurry. But if you’re not in a hurry, go back and read it. I loved it.

  1. It’s so easy – everyone knows how to run!
  2. Yet so hard – you can say that again
  3. Your knees will thank you (I was surprised by the information on this one)
  4. You’ll stress less – running is definitely my stress release
  5. It can prevent disease – woohoo!
  6. You’ll probably live longer – who doesn’t want that?!

I just wanted to leave you with this picture because I think it’s amazing.

20130320-161012.jpg

What time of day do you prefer to workout?

What was your workout today?

Do you agree with the 6 reasons to start running? Did I convert you?!

6 thoughts on “i’m an early bird and 6 reasons to start running

  1. Loved the 6 reasons… I will certainly google the article.
    Today I ran 4 miles and walked 2.
    I, too, prefer to work out in the morning. 🙂

Please feel free to leave a comment

