weekend catch up and proper hydration

So when I’m being a terrible blogger, you get a quick catch up with about 1 million pictures. Ready? Here’s what you’ve missed since I last posted:

My office is always around 80 degrees (our facilities personnel have told us there’s nothing they can do about it. Awesome. So here was how I spent most of Friday:

IMG_1892

 

It’s being a typical Utah spring and being sunny one day and snowy the next. However, they’re only little pellets. Nothing to be concerned with.

 IMG_1898

Last night I had this delicious pork quesadilla with a pepper jelly and some stolen avocados from my friend’s salad. Delicious!

IMG_1900

I went to a bridal shower for my beautiful friend, Stephanie. I always remind her that we’re distantly related. It makes me feel super cool.

 

IMG_1904

 

We had chocolate covered strawberries the size of my hand (ok, only these two were that big)

IMG_1902

I got to see my friend Mandy before she leaves for Hong Kong for 18 months.

IMG_1917

 

I went to my last yoga class at this studio this morning. Kind of sad to be done with those class passes.

IMG_1920

I then drove to Kneaders to fulfill my week-long craving for their AMAZING french toast!

IMG_1921

Phew! That was a lot of pictures! Thanks for sticking through that with me.

Today I want to talk about why drinking water and being properly hydrated is so important. Did you know…

  • Up to 60% of our body is made of water  
  • 70% of the brain is composed of water
  • 90% of the lungs are composed of water
  • Lean muscle tissue (and the brain) are 75% water by weight
  • Body fat is 10% water
  • Bone is 22% water
  • Around 83% of our blood is water
  • Women have less water than men (as a percentage)

(Source)

You guys! Look how important water is to our bodies and to its ability to properly function! If we expect our bodies to be able to not only perform its involuntary functions (breathing, digesting, collecting and disposing of waste, etc) but the voluntary ones we put upon it (such as exercising), we need to make sure we are properly hydrated!

We’ve all heard that you should drive around 8 glasses (8 oz each) of water a day, for a total of 64 oz daily. This really is not very hard! If you’re making sure you have water with your meals and then drink water throughout the day, you should hit 64 oz before you even go home for dinner.

My trick to making sure I hit the 64 oz goal is my Camelbak water bottle. I think the reason I drink so much more water with this water bottle than with others is the straw feature. I’ve heard you drink more when you have a straw and I completely believe it!

IMG_1894

I probably drink at around 3-4 of these (24 oz each) just while I’m at work every day. Yes, I do have to pee about every 30 seconds (ok not really but probably every hour) but that’s ok! It means I’m drinking plenty of water and helping my body to rid itself of things it doesn’t need! When I was in cross-country in high school, my coaches used to tell us “Drink until you pee clear”. So that’s your goal. Drink water until you’re peeing clear. That’s how you know you’re properly hydrated.

Plus, I just like an excuse to use this water bottle. I sure do love it.

IMG_1896

What have you been up to this weekend?

Do you like Kneader’s french toast? (your answer to this question may or may not determine if we can be friends)

What do you do to make sure you stay hydrated?

7 thoughts on “weekend catch up and proper hydration

  1. I try my best to stay hydrated, but I definitely do better during the work week than the weekend. At work, I keep one of those gigantic 32 oz Nalgene bottles at my desk and try to fill it a few times a day. The bigger the water bottle, the better in my opinion!

  2. I totally agree that I drink more from my water cups that have straws than the others.
    I just read a post at Runner Girl Eats about water around the world and those that don’t have it. So ironic that you had a post about how important it is for us!!
    The french toast looked SO good…

  3. I drink so much water and tea throughout the day it’s ridiculous. People around work make fun of me for always having a water bottle or tea mug in hand but hey, when you run as much as I do I have to stay hydrated!

  4. Pingback: Health and Fitness Apps | see this girl run

Please feel free to leave a comment

