Why I Run

Today I was talking to a friend about how he and his wife are running a marathon in June. It genuinely made me so happy and excited to talk about what they’ve done to train, fueling and running in general. There are few things in life that get me this excited. It’s the reason Human Movement Science: Exercise Science was the perfect major for me. It got me thinking of why I love running.

This is when I feel the most free, the most invincible, like nothing can hold me back.

It comes so naturally but is also one of the hardest things I do. It’s a constant battle between my body and my brain.

It’s a competition within myself, while still giving me a people around me to motivate me. During a race, even though I’m trying to beat my own PR, I can think “ok Alyssa, go catch up with that girl. Stay with this person. Etc”

Nothing else, not even other forms of exercise, give me the same level of euphoria. Nothing beats a good run or race. Nothing. It’s thoseย endorphins! Whoa buddy!

It makes me feel strong, capable and in control of my life.

The stress relief isย amazing. I can run and not think about all my worries and power through them. This is how I work out a lot of my frustrations.

The workouts allow me to develop self-discipline while the races hold me accountable.

I am so in awe of the human body and all of its capabilities. Running gives me a chance to experience and really notice it for myself. My body is so dang cool.

A team isn’t depending on me. Nobody else is going to be upset if I don’t hit a certain time.ย I do this only for me!

IMG_0066

Why do you run? (or do whatever exercise it is you’re passionate about)

16 thoughts on “Why I Run

  1. I run because…i feel free, it is my “ME” time, keeps me mentally strong, keeps me physically strong, I love the feeling I have when it is 8am on a sunday and I have already ran 6 miles. I could go on and on, but I won’t, but I could. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I run, among many other reasons, because I chose and continue to choose to do it. It changed me ~ rather, it brought me back to myself. I will be forever grateful to running for having my body and my spirit back after a long hiatus!

  3. I run because I hate it and because I’m bad at it. Yet, no matter how much I hate lacing up and running that first mile, the rest of the run (usually) and then the rest of the day are aweeeeesome.

  4. Pingback: Happy National Running Day! | see this girl run

Please feel free to leave a comment

