how to get up early to work out

As mentioned in my previous post today, my little brother made me Easter dinner tonight. I was pleasantly surprised!

IMG_1950

He made me pork chops,  mashed potatoes and salad. He even bought me balsamic vinaigrette because he knows I don’t like creamy dressings. Isn’t he a sweetie?!

IMG_1952

Remember how I said my family went to my great grandpa’s 95th birthday party this weekend? Well here’s my dad and his grandpa. Aren’t they a bunch of studs! I’m really sad I missed out on this opportunity to see him and my extended family.

img_1092

Since I’ve started working out more in the morning (and since that was my habit last summer) I thought I would share my tricks for getting up for my early morning workouts.

images-1

  • Go to bed early. Whatever early means for you. But you should be getting 7-8 hours of sleep a night. So whatever that takes for you, do it. If I don’t get enough sleep, I seriously cannot function the next day and I get sick so much easier.
  • Use an alarm that works for you! Whether that means setting multiple alarms, putting your phone across the room or whatever! Just do it! Then when it goes off, GET UP. The alarm I use will give me a window of time to snooze and once it hits a certain time I can’t snooze it anymore, so I have to get up.
  • Set out your workout clothes the night before so you can just get up and go! If it will make it even easier, sleep in the clothes you plan on workout out in the next day. You’re going to get gross in them anyway. Who cares if they’re a little wrinkled?!
  • Make getting out the door as easy as possible. Set out your keys. Fill up your water bottle. 
  • Have easy to eat fuel ready. I can’t eat a ton before exercising but I definitely need something. A piece of toast or a banana are perfect for me to give me quick energy without weighing down my stomach.
  • Keep it up. It’s takes time to develop new habits and if you’re not used to it, it will be hard at first. Just keep at it. You’ve got this 🙂

(image source)

Any tips you would add to the list?

What did you have for Easter dinner?

Twété Bird Headband giveaway goes for just under 7 more days! Don’t miss out!

8 thoughts on “how to get up early to work out

  1. Yes! I agree with all of these things. I often fluctuate between being a morning running and an evening runner. I love running at the end of a long, hard day as a way to transition to my evening, but I also love being in the habit of getting up early consistently to run. My problem is I have a dog who needs walked in the morning, but doesn’t like to run far with me. So if I run in the morning, I have to walk her and then come back home and head out for a run. So cute your brother made you dinner 🙂

  2. Those are great tips. It’s always easier if you can stumble around in the morning without many things to do before working out!
    Tonight we had pork tenderloin, a salad, and sweet potato waffle fries. Yum!
    Happy Easter (your brother is very sweet for making you dinner!)!

  3. I LOVE mornings! Great advice for working out early… another tip?
    –DON’T OVER THINK IT!! Wake up and just keep moving… don’t for one second give yourself time to “doubt” your decision to workout/run… keep your mind occupied with getting dressed, grabbing a bite, getting in the car/out the door, etc. The moment you stop to say…”Do I REALLY want to…??” is when you can convince yourself out of it!
    So turn off the brain!!

    Great blog and I love reading your posts! Thank you!

Please feel free to leave a comment

