running with podcasts

First of all, thank you so much for your kind words of encouragement! I have the best real friends/blogger friends. You guys seriously make my day!

The other day I was out on a run and my headphones died on me (I’m sitting here waiting for them to charge up so I can go on my run). So I ran the last mile in my thoughts, which was basically me wondering how fast I was going and what time it was and if I had time to shower before going for pedicures.

It got me thinking about what I listen to when I workout. Last year when I was training for my second half, I started getting tired of my music, especially as my runs got longer. I decided to try out podcasts. A friend of mine had recommended one a while back, so I started listening to them. I was hooked! Here are some of my favorite podcasts that I like to while I’m out on a run:

WNYC Radio Lab:

RL_circle

According to their website “Radiolab is a show about curiosity. Where sound illuminates ideas, and the boundaries blur between science, philosophy, and human experience.” This is the one my friend told me about and I love it because it’s always so different. I’m highly entertained the entire time. Each podcast is so different, which is wonderful.

Jillian Michaels Podcasts:

jm__podcast_icon

I just discovered these a little bit ago and the one I listened to was great. It was a discussion she had with a doctor about a few different diseases, such as Diabetes, Hyper- and Hypotension, and Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome. I love listening to all this medical talk (dumbed down for the common man of course, most of the time) and remember all these things I’d learned about in my classes. (nerd alert!)

Stuff You Should Know:

7183

This one is just fascinating. The ones I currently have are “Myths About the Brain” and “How Willpower Works”. I love taking the opportunity to listen and learn about things I wouldn’t normally sit down and listen to but that I still find interesting. Ok, let’s be honest, I would sit down and learn about the brain anyway 😉

If you’re getting tired of your own thoughts or of your music, I would definitely recommend trying out some podcasts. I’ve listened to a couple that really didn’t do it for me, so you may have to try a couple out before you find ones you like.

Good news: I didn’t do nearly as poorly on my test I thought I did. I mean, I didn’t ace it, but we can definitely call this one a win. Woohoo!

Less than 3 little days until the Rafflecopter closes for the Twété Bird Headband giveaway! If you’ve already entered, remember you can enter daily with a FB post or a Tweet! You really need one of these 3 headbands.

Well, I think my headphones are charged up enough to last 5 miles 🙂 Afterward I’m heading to a friend’s to do some abs and to eat some salad for dinner. Can’t wait!

What do you listen to when you work out? 

Are there any podcasts I should try out?

10 thoughts on “running with podcasts

  1. Okay, I LOVE Stuff You Should Know. I had to find a bunch of podcasts to listen to on my long drives, and that if one of my favorites. Have you ever listened to This American Life?

  2. I’m a Disney nerd so I listen to a few Disney podcasts. My favorite is called Mousetalgia. I also love Inside the Magic and The Mickey Miles Podcast (runDisney focused)

  3. Ok… I must really feel like I can trust you (and that you won’t judge me and think I’m, like, 150 years old). How do I get a podcast on my iphone? Itunes? I’ve been hearing about this lately and I think it sounds like a great idea. When I did my marathon I thought I was going to tear my iphone off my arm and throw it on the curb I was so sick and tired of the music!!

Please feel free to leave a comment

