a healthy lifestyle

I got up this morning and did this circuit workout from OliveToRun. You’re supposed to do it 4 times total but because of time constraint I was only able to do 3. Still though, my thighs were definitely feeling it and I had to switch over to wimpy girl push ups (not that there’s anything wrong with those!!). I call it a good work out!

It’s rainy today in my beautiful valley and the weather forecast shows that we’ll have rain and possibly thunder (yes!) til Tuesday. I love rainy weather. Not forever, but now and then it’s nice. The only thing is that I was hoping to do an easy 8 mile run tomorrow but I can’t if it’s sketchy weather (something about thunderstorms not being safe to run in). So pray for nice weather tomorrow morning! Then it can storm as hard as it wants πŸ™‚

As I’ve gone up and down my fitness journey throughout the years, something that’s become very apparent to me is that whatever it is you do needs to become your lifestyle. That’s the only way anything will stick. That’s one reason I don’t believe in “diets”. Healthy shouldn’t be something you do for a little bit. Healthy should be something you crave, that you need to be, every day. I think the more you do it, the more it becomes who you are.

3ca7fe8b163cd4ab07259f929a47debb

I noticed last night that I have stopped worrying as much about how much I weigh, but how far I can run or how strong my leg muscles are to support my knees.

I’m worried about being prepared for my races, not losing the weight I gained freshman year.

I don’t worry so much about how many carbs or dairy or whatever I’ve had to eat. I worry about how the food is going to make me feel and if it’s going to fuel me til the next meal or throughout my work out.

I worry about going to bed early enough that I can get a good night’s rest and have the energy to wake up and work out in the morning.

I say worry, not in an anxious kind of way, but that this is where my concerns lie. It’s so liberating and it’s such a different mentality than I had even a couple of months ago. I can feel my body getting strong, I can see the results in my training through my ability to do things better or faster. While of course, a lifestyle requires constant commitment to it this is something I love. I love to feel healthier. I love to feel stronger. I love craving a good workout. This is truly the life!

How’s the weather in your neck of the woods?

What’s your favorite weather to work out in?

What do you do to make healthy living your lifestyle?

Tomorrow (until midnight) is your last chance to enter to win a TwΓ©tΓ© Bird Headband! Go pick out your favorite one (really hard to do. There’s so many cute ones!)

8 thoughts on “a healthy lifestyle

  1. Weather here in Birmingham is supposed to be perfect (sunny and mid 70s) for a rest day tomorrow and a 10 mile run on Sunday. I am less concerned with temps as long as its sunny. If its sunny, I want to run forever. If its cloudy and dreary, I have to drag myself out.

    The healthy piece: I’ve struggled with weight and being focused on health for my entire 32 years. I didn’t have great health role models and it took lots of dieting and unhappiness for me to start learning the right way to do things. I now have a new way of looking st the world and my life and I love being healthy. I love fresh foods and the satisfaction of making healthy choices. I’m not perfect by any means: today I could not keep myself from ordering sweet potato tempura with my brown rice tuna avocado roll at lunch. But I’ve realized I love how fresh food tastes, how strong I feel after I workout or when I wake up feeling amazing rather than sluggish.

    And now that I’ve written my on blog post in your comments, I will shut up πŸ™‚

    • Oh how nice! I hope the weather holds up for your run on Sunday!

      I love the long comment! πŸ™‚ It’s so true how what you eat makes all the difference in how you feel in general, but especially when working out. I admit I could do better in the fresh food eating department…

  2. We really had to have a family overhaul with our eating and exercise. It’s been so rewarding.
    It sounds like your shift in focus has been a healthy one!
    I like to work out when it is cool and not humid!!

  3. This is a great post! When I changed over to that mindset years ago, my life improved and fitness became a whole new thing in my life. I love it.

    Lelani Craig CommGap

  4. I just found your blog (I think through HRG, but I don’t remember), and this is my first time commenting so…hi!

    When I finally got to the point where I was proud of what my body could accomplish more than any number on the scale or how I perceived that I looked, that was a momentous day. I love that feeling! My favorite workout weather is 60 and sunny, but I do love a good drizzle.

Please feel free to leave a comment

