At Home 100s!

Well folks after a long day at work, I headed to Buffalo Wild Wings to cheer on Michigan. It was a fun game to watch but in the end, Louisville was triumphant. Remember how I wanted Duke to win? So really it didn’t matter to me who won. It was just a fun atmosphere and a fun night out with friends. I should have taken pictures but I totally kept forgetting.

Yesterday I officially started my training for my next half marathon. I decided I really want to get better (duh…but really I could choose to just run it) and try to drop 13 minutes off of my current PR so that I can get another medal. Shallow I know, but it’s motivation nonetheless! I am using this schedule from Hal Higdon’s website. I chose this one because it’s pretty flexible and it has speed workouts, which is something I’ve never really focused on before in my training. I’m excited to see how it goes!

This morning I did the 100s work out. I don’t know if that’s what it’s officially called or where it originally came from but it’s easy to remember. Here’s what it is:

100s Workout

100 Push Ups

100 Sit Ups

100 Squats

As fast as you can!

Sounds easy right? Wrong! At least not for me. I start with the push ups because they’re the hardest for me. I admit I did do the modified (aka “girl”) push ups because I really just could not last that long with regular ones. I do try to focus on having good form and believe me I get a work out! Next I do the sit ups and finally the squats. The reason you’re going for time is because you want to have as little rest as possible between exercises. Of course take breaks and slow down if you need to! Always listen to your body! But you also don’t want to rest too long. It needs to be challenging! Also, I like to do each 100 all at once and then move on to the next exercise. You can break it up or choose to do it in any order you want.

If I had more time I would have added a wall sit and maybe some more abs. That’s always how it is huh? “If I had more time…” You could also hold weights while doing the squats, do regular push ups, increase the reps, whatever it is you need to do to get in your work out! This is just a nice foundation to start from for some strength you can easily do at home. I am all about home work outs when you know you just won’t be making it to the gym!

Here is a little motivation for your Tuesday. It’s a beautiful quote that goes along with so many different aspects of life. Hope you’re having a wonderful day!

e2b1b3ca712aa8fe69d06484ce16c5ab

Who did you really want to win last night? 

What’s your favorite at home work out?

Tell me something terrific!

10 thoughts on “At Home 100s!

  1. yoga! I love to do yoga at home because it’s easy. I’ve also gone thru the p90x series and I love those as well. I think I just might try that 100’s. that sounds very interesting and would do well for me on a time crunched day.

    • oh! I need to get a resistance band. Those things are awesome. Is the swinging bridge the one where you are in a plank but then kind of “swing” from one side to the other? I love those.

  2. Oh girl I did 100 pushups for time a couple weeks ago… oh my goodness by the end i was doing them in sets of 5 and could barely hold myself up! it took me just over 8 minutes! As hard as it was, it is a great “bench mark” workout to do every once in a while to try and improve your time!!
    Hal Haigdon is great! I have used his plans ((loosely)) before for a marathon and was pretty pleased!!
    What half are you running??? I am in the market for one!!
    Great job on the training!!

      • Thanks I will!! I had never heard of that! Don’t you just love running into new workouts?? makes everything so much more fun haha I will check it out and let you know how it goes!! so tough!!

Please feel free to leave a comment

