a confession and sleep

Ok, there’s something that I keep meaning to bring up that feels a little weird to just barely be mentioning. Especially since I feel like I’ve become good friends with some of you since we “talk” on a daily basis! As many of you may know, my name is Alyssa. However, if you don’t know me in real life (let’s be honest even if you do) you might not know that my name is pronounced like Alisa (uh-lee-sa). It can be confusing for people and then they just get scared to say my name at all for fear of saying it wrong. I don’t get offended if people pronounce my name wrong and usually don’t even correct them. Someone else around us will correct them and then I don’t have to do it 🙂 It’s to the point where I will answer to anything that sounds remotely like it could be my name; Alyssa, Alisa, Alicia, Lisa….I even turn every time I hear someone say “at least”…I guess when you say it fast it kinda sounds like my name. ANYWAY…just wanted to let my blogging buddies know how to say my name. That’s all 🙂

Yesterday we had a Professional Employee Associate Appreciation Luncheon. Long story short, I got free catered lunch catered by my work. Woohoo! Look at how delicious it was!

IMG_2044

Thank you to everyone who participated in the wellness discussion yesterday! I love all your insights! If you missed Factor #1: Body Image you can check it out here.

Wellness Factor #2: SLEEP! 

Oh I do love my sleep! But before I get into it, let’s see what you guys said!

Rachel: Sleep is definitely a necessity for me. I feel sluggish/unmotivated when I don’t sleep enough and my workouts are the worst.

Ali: I’m one of those people who could sleep 12 hours if I had the chance. There’s no such thing as enough sleep for me.

According to the National Sleep Foundation, “there is no “magic number.” Not only do different age groups need different amounts of sleep, but sleep needs are also individual. Just like any other characteristics you are born with, the amount of sleep you need to function best may be different for you than for someone who is of the same age and gender. While you may be at your absolute best sleeping seven hours a night, someone else may clearly need nine hours to have a happy, productive life.”

I love the comments above because I think it shows just that! We are all so different when it comes to our sleep! If I get less than 6.5 hours of sleep, I know I’ll be tired. If I get less than 6, I’ll pretty much be worthless. More than 8.5 or 9 and again I’ll be sluggish. You have to give your body what it needs and only you truly know what your own body needs!  While there is not “magic number”, as stated above, there are recommendations based on your age.

how_much_large

Lack of sleep also has way more downsides than just feeling like you need a nap mid-day. Some of them include:

  • Increased risk of death
  • Increased risk of accidents
  • Ages your skin
  • Makes you forgetful
  • Makes you gain weight
  • Dumbs you down
  • Leads to serious health problems

(source)

I don’t know about you, but none of those sound that great to me! Another side effect is that your immune system lowers, making you more susceptible to getting sick. I know that when I’m sleep deprived I almost ALWAYS end up getting sick. No fun!

So take care of your body and give it the well deserved rest it deserves!

Do you have a hard to pronounce name? or do people ever pronounce your name incorrectly?

How much do you sleep at night? What’s your personal “magic number”?

Want to be part of future posts? Leave your thoughts on how you work on any of the follow aspects of health: fitness, nutrition, stress management, spiritual, and balancing it all.

35 thoughts on “a confession and sleep

  1. So funny you mentioned this. I have a friend named Alisa (pronounced the same as you) and she would get angry if people pronounced it wrong. She thought her name was not a-liss-a so she did not want to be called that.
    Sleep….I love it. I just got back to the East Coast after a few days on the West coast and my sleep schedule is completely off. Yesterday I barely got 5 hours and I felt it all day. I like 8 hours, but I can survive on 6.

    • Oh how funny! It’s the curse of my name I guess! No matter how you spell it, people always get it wrong. It’s really kind of strange.
      Oh yeah. It always takes me a bit to get back to my normal sleep patterns after a trip. Especially across the country!

  2. Haha I never would have guessed that! Very cool! And I think sleep is something thats often overlooked as an important part of a healthy lifestyle. I’m glad you mentioned it!

  3. I was fine with people pronouncing my names. Then I married a Kasparian. Now I’m genuinely impressed when people get it right the first time they see it. Spelling is even worse. 🙂

  4. Wow… this post is so relevant to me right now! I can blame it on Grad School for my lack of sleep– I can’t remember the last time I got over 6hrs, normal nights are 5-5.5, but I think for me I find that my sleep is best in relationship with my MEALS. I generally go to bed hungry (I convinced myself night eating is bad). But I also know that when I eat a good, relatively big, protein rich meal (chicken/rice, salmon, burger, etc) I sleep soooo much better. I may not ever get close to 8 or 9, but I get close to 7. Which is a huge improvement! I am definately working on getting better sleep which I think will gradually improve as I improve my eating habits and get my period back!! yayy

    I work on stress management by using my workout time as strict ME time. I turn off my brain, leave school/work/self worries at home, and I allow myself a workout of good ol’ SWEAT!! It is amazing how sweating can literally seem to let the stress seep out of you! When I get back back I am clear-headed and ready to go!

    So excited for your Wellness Posts!!

    • Ugh I know how that goes! When you’re busy with school and work and everything else, sleep takes a hit. I hope you’re able to get more rest after finals 🙂 Interesting that you’ve found a connection between what you eat and your quality of sleep…I’ll have to pay closer attention to mine!

      I do the same thing! When I’m running, I don’t let myself think about anything that is stressing me out at the moment. I use that time to not worry about anything and just sweat it all out!

  5. Good thing you’re forgiving about the name mispronunciation…especially since I may have been guilty before. 🙂

  6. Hard to remember? I am a Kelsey, but get called Chelsea or Kelly A LOT 🙂

    My magic number is 6-8, keeps me healthy, energized and gorgeous 😉

    I think balance is the most important aspect of your series. It is hard to find time for eating healthy, exercise, work, social life, household duties, family. It’s a lot to fit in! I make sure to set goals weekly and daily. Eg. Run X miles a week, then make a schedule that accomplishes that and fit socializing or housework in on rest days or days with low miles…and can’t forget date night every Wednesday 🙂 When I over commit myself I feel stressed out and behind!

    • Really?! I never would have thought Kelsey would be a difficult name! Maybe with spelling, because there are some variations but not calling you different names! How funny.

      I love your thoughts on balance! Scheduling things in and not over committing really does take so much stress out of it all! Thanks!

  7. It does get annoying when people don’t address me properly. I insist on “His Excellency”, the use of third person syntax clearly calling out my personal indifference in addition to the self-absorption, but the unwashed masses insist on saying “Your Highness”, as though it were something to be possessed, rather than being. Yet I still find the strength to soldier on, day after day.

  8. People misspell my name a lot and add an “a” near the end..like Michael. That drives me up a wall. No one really mispronounces it, although I did have a man call me “Ra-shell.” That was interesting!

    I sleep anywhere between 8-10 hours a night, usually more towards 8. Even if I go to bed incredibly late (which I tend to do on the weekends, party girl), I get my 8 hours…even if it means wasting the rest of my day. Oops.. sorry, but if you don’t want to deal with the negative part of my Diva personality… let me get some sleep 😉

    • ah yes, I can see that. I think sometimes people are so scared to say a name wrong, that they actually say it wrong anyway out of anxiety.
      haha yes keep that negative Diva down 🙂

  9. I run best on 8 hours of sleep, but lately I have only been getting seven.

    The best way for me to handle stress is to run and pray. Anytime I go to God in prayer or just read His word, God gives me such a peace. And running just seems to relax me and make me realize that everything will be just fine.

  10. I feel like “Sarah” shouldn’t be a hard name to say but this semester I moved to a new ward and they gave me a calling and told me I’d stand in sacrament meeting. When the time came I heard them call “Sierra Olsen as visiting teaching coordinator.” I looked around thinking “that’s my calling…is that supposed to be me?” When nobody responded I finally stood up. It was pretty funny 🙂

  11. Q1: No, my name is not hard to pronounce, but it’s apparently very hard to spell. LOL Hardly no one spells my name correctly and it’s annoying, but I’ve grown to live with it.

    Q2: I require at least 7 hours… my body likes 9-10 hours. When I’m lacking sleep, I sometimes sleep as long as 13-14 hours to get caught back up. When I get less than 7, I don’t function properly at all!

  12. My name is short for Alison, but if I’m using my nickname, I’m sure to get “Ah-li” instead of “Ally” because of spelling.

    My go-to number of hours is 8. It’s the bare minimum I can sleep and be at the TOP of my game, although I can function okay on 7.

  13. I’m glad you shared that with us because I probably would’ve called you A-liss-a and then wanted to punch myself when you corrected me. People spell my name wrong all the time (I get Cory and Corey but never Cori) and it drives me nuts so I HATE messing people’s names up.

  14. My name is weird: Cyanne. Like the pepper or the Porsche, not the color or the city inWyoming. No one gets it right by reading it, or at least on purpose. I’m more dumbfounded when I say my name to them, and in the same conversation, they mispronounce it back to me.

    I know I need more sleep than I get most of the time, but I can’t remember not being tired. Ever.

    • Oh that is unique. I like it! I’ve had that happen to me too and I don’t understand it either! Haha guess they weren’t really listening.
      Oh gosh seriously. I feel the same way. Always always tired.

  15. I don’t know my magic number for sleep but I know I don’t get enough sleep. I would like to get at least 7 hrs but most nights it’s only 6. I am currently in the middle of a 21 day sugar detox. I have been living paleo since the beginning of the year. Since living paleo I feel better, not as tired, have more energy, no more sugar crashes. It’s a daily struggle to stay on track but I know if I start straying I feel the effects instantly.

  16. Yes I have a hard name to pronounce. It’s Therese -How do you think it is pronounced? Guess? Okay -it rhymes with Perez. I bet you were wrong. I regret not picking a nickname when I relocated to California. Surprisingly, they are much better at pronouncing it than New Yorkers were. My blogger name is the Commoner -so some people go “Hey Commoner!”

  17. Pingback: managing stress | see this girl run

  18. Pingback: spiritual wellness | see this girl run

  19. Pingback: Welcome to Holland | see this girl run

Please feel free to leave a comment

