Welcome to Holland

I forgot to tell you guys that I purchased my first GPS watch! Ah! So excited for it to get here! It’s the Garmin Forerunner 10. I did a lot of research and asked some blogger running friends and this seemed to be good enough for what I need right now. Here’s a little preview for you:

pd-01-lg

I thought about getting the pink one and asked a bunch of friends and the vote was unanimously purple. So purple it is! (not that I make all important decisions based on peer pressure…)

Today I want to take a little break from the wellness discussions. We’ll pick it back up this coming week. If you missed the discussions on Body Image, Sleep, Stress Management, Spiritual Wellness, or Nutrition you can find them here, here, here, here and here. The next topics coming up are on fitness, health relationships, and balancing it all. Let me know if you think of any other aspects of wellness that we should cover! I’m open to suggestions ๐Ÿ™‚

This morning in church I heard the following story and it’s been on my mind all day.

Holland_MI_Tulips_01
Welcome to Holland
ย 
I am often asked to describe the experience of raising a child with disability – to try to help people who have not shared that unique experience to imagine how it would feel.ย 

It is like this…

When you’re going to have a baby, it is like planning a fabulous vacation trip – to Italy. You buy a bunch of guidebooks and make your wonderful plans. The Coliseum. The Michelangelo David. The Gondolas of Venice. You may learn some handy phrases in Italian. It is all very exciting.

After months of anticipation, the day finally arrives. You pack your bag and off you go. Several hours later the plane lands. The stewardess comes in and says, ‘Welcome to Holland’. ‘Holland? ‘ you say. ‘What do you mean Holland? I signed up for Italy! ! ! I am supposed to be in Italy. All my life I have dreamed of going to Italy! ‘.

But there has been a change in flight plan, they have landed in Holland and there you must stay. The important thing is that they have not taken you to a horrible, disgusting, filthy place, full of pestilence, famine and disease. It is just a different place.

So you must go out and buy new guidebooks. And you must learn a new language. And you will meet a whole new group of people you would never have met before. It is just a different place. It’s slower paced than Italy. It’s less flashy than Italy. But after you have been there for a while and you catch your breath, you look around and you begin to notice that Holland has windmills, Holland has tulips, and Holland even has Rembrandts.

But everyone you know is busy coming and going from Italy and they are all bragging about what a wonderful time they had there. And for the rest of your life you will say, ‘Yes, that is where I was supposed to go, That’s where I had planned’.

And the pain of that will never, ever go away, because the loss of that dream is a very significant loss, but if you spend your life mourning the fact that you didn’t go to Italy, you may never be free to enjoy the very special, the very lovely things about Holland.ย 

Written byย Emily Perl Kingsley (in 1987)

To me, this story applies to so much other than what it was written about (although of course I don’t want to take away from the original message of the story). When discussed in church today it was used as a metaphor for finding joy in the journey.

We all have our own version of Holland. I know I’m still young, but I’ve quickly learned that career plans, summer plans, relationship plans…heck! any normal life plans don’t usually go the way you thought they would. It doesn’t mean that you don’t end up somewhere beautiful and wonderful in its own right. It’s just different.

So whether you are on a different path than you originally intended in your career, in your personal life, in your fitness goals…whatever! ENJOY THE JOURNEY. Because even though you’re in Holland right now instead of Italy like you thought you were going to be, it doesn’t mean that life is bad. It’s just different. But it’s a wonderful different.

08ca10eddba4349736b8dacafce8f4c9

Hope you’re having a great Sunday!

11 thoughts on “Welcome to Holland

  1. This is such a beautiful story. So many people I know have had to adjust to living in Holland. Though I’m sure they do mourn the death of one of their dreams… they all love their children passionately! They are loving what life in Holland has to give.
    Thank you!!

  2. Beautiful.

    Side note: I am sad that they have purple now ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I have a green one (which I love) but I would’ve went for purple.

  3. Thanks for sharing. ๐Ÿ™‚
    PS – LOVE the garmin! I have the pink one (though, had purple been an option, would have totally gotten that one)!! jealous!

  4. I love that! I do a lot of work with special needs communities and there are some truly amazing parents out there! I think a lot of people have misconceptions about people who are differently abled, but that’s a great lesson to apply to other aspects of your life! I’ve been holding that viewpoint lately too, as my plan for my life sorta fell apart in September.. but I’m in a great spot in my life and incredibly happy, so I know I ended up where I needed to be!

    I cannot wait to hear how you love the Garmin..I have my eye on that watch. In pink though, OF COURSE! Pink is my color… If you’ve ever been over to my blog, you’d see that ๐Ÿ˜‰ I also have a hot pink kitchen and long accent wall.

Please feel free to leave a comment

