Let’s Talk Books!

Hey friends! Glad so many of you liked the some e-cards post yesterday. I’m going to star putting less effort into my posts šŸ˜‰ Just kidding. But seriously…

The weather here is getting soo beautiful! It’s climbing into the 50s and 60s through the rest of the week. Wish I had more time to actually be outside and enjoy it! My office doesn’t even have windows. The main way I know what the weather is like outside, is because I have my gmail set to the “bus stop” theme, which changes based on your location’s weather. It’s pretty cute.

raining

So normally I’m a HUGE bookworm. I was one of those kids that got all of the points possible for the summer reading program at the library (yeah I was also the kid that spent her summer doing the summer reading program at the library). But lately it is taking me FOREVER to finish a book! I am currently reading “Change of Heart” by Jodi Picoult and it has been taking me so long! I blame my busy life on not giving me enough time. Usually I try to read a little when I get into bed but I only last a couple of minutes before I start falling asleep. But so far it’s a good book! The story line is a little weird to explain but it’s interesting. I would recommend it šŸ™‚

change-of-heart-400

I am a huge murder mystery fan so I love, love Agatha Christie and Mary Higgins Clark books! They just keep me on the edge of my seat and then I think I figure out the end and then there’s a twist! A new development I never saw coming! Ah! It’s wonderful!

youbelongtimemm250

Lately I’ve noticed a lot of futuristic books coming out. A lot of dystopian societies (such as “The Hunger Games” series) and ones where all decisions are made for them (“Matched” and “Divergent”). They’re very entertaining and quick reads. But it also makes me very, very glad I live in a place where I get to make all my own decisions.

bookcover-matched-us

Divergent hc c(2)

For work I’ll be reading “The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind”, which will be a total 180 from the types of books I’m used to reading. I hear it’s good though, so I guess we’ll see! The author will be coming to speak at a convocation, which is always really fun. I like hearing the authors talk about their books. It makes them come alive a little more for me.

6a00df3521152d88340120a5f9bc0e970c-320wi

What kind of books do you like to read?

Any recommendations?Ā 

What is your favorite kind of weather? (dark, gloomy, and rainy for me!)

22 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Books!

  1. I’ve heard Divergent is a great read, I must check it out! I loved the Hunger Games (along with everyone else) and my book club is currently reading The Great Gatsby so we can go gawk at Leo in the movie! ā¤ Cute computer theme, haha!!

  2. I’m OBSESSED with jodi picoult. My senior year english teacher is actually one of her good friends. Small world šŸ™‚

  3. 1) I love reading too! 2)I also like dark, gloomy, rainy weather! I could totally live in a place like Oregon or something. I am a huge fan of murder mysteries so once I graduate and have time to read again I will definitely read that Mary Higgins Clark book, along with the others you’ve listed. I heard Divergent is pretty good too. #bookwormsunite

  4. Jodi Picoult anything is the best. HUGE fan. My guilty pleasure reads are all of Nicholas Sparks books which all have similar plots and storylines but I can’t help but love them. šŸ™‚

    I’ve been reading more devotionals than anything like that but I LOVED Bossy Pants by Tina Fey and Mindy Kaling’s book.

    • Oh yeah, I’ve totally read all the Nicholas Sparks books. I read one a couple months ago that is his own story. I think it’s called “Three Weeks with my Brother”. He talks about growing up and then this trip he and his brother went on. He also talks about where some of his book ideas come from. It’s really good. Made me cry, just like the rest of them.
      I like Bossy Pants too! I need to read Mindy Kaling’s book!

  5. I’m currently re-reading “The Catcher in the Rye” and plan on re-reading “To Kill a Mockingbird” next. I read the free books on my Kindle, but I really liked “The Art of Racing in the Rain” (told from the viewpoint of a man’s dog) and “The Lost Dogs,” which is a non-fiction about Michael Vick’s dogs.

  6. I just finished rereading “She’s Come Undone” by Wally Lamb. It was one of my favorites in middle school, and I loved it even more this time around. As an adult, I caught a lot more. I tend to gravitate toward dark story lines. I read YA lit to keep up with my students, but my favorite is Stephen King :o)

  7. I have heard good things about “The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind.” Is it the Connections book this year? Maybe I will get it and read it with you guys!

  8. I feel you on the no windows in the office. It is miserable. I may have to follow your lead and change to the bus stop view on gmail (didn’t even know they had that). I have been struggling with read this year. My mother-in-law gave me a new book for Christmas… The Casual Vacancy by JK Rowling, and I am having the hardest time getting in to it. I have started it 3 times and haven’t made it past the first 50 pages… maybe it is time to give up.

  9. Hi Alyssa! I love Divergent and Insurgent, the second one, really puts a twist on it! I think it is my favorite dystopian society collection. I also recommend The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson. So this has nothing to do with what you wrote about today, but I am fairly new to running and I am trying to build up endurance. My heart is weak when it comes to exercise and I cannot run very fast. But I want to run and I want to become strong. Do you have any ideas/experience with this? I would be interested in a post about going from no running to good running. Do you have any running books that you have read/like that could help me in my new running world?

    • Hi Emily! I am adding those books to my list! I have so much to read this summer now. šŸ™‚
      I would LOVE to do a post on that! My short answer for right now is to just do it. If you’re slow, then just run slow. That’s totally fine. You’ll get stronger and faster with time. But you have to start with where you are.
      Unfortunately I haven’t read any running books yet but I will do some research and get back to you!

Please feel free to leave a comment

