running books. books for runners.

First of all, I’d like to draw your attention to my new header! My beautiful and talented friend Mariana created it for me! I think she did a great job. Now I need to make her a yummy treat or two as a thank you πŸ™‚

Yesterday I had the pleasure of going to the dentist. I know what you’re thinking andΒ no, that was not sarcasm. I really do love going to my dentist, not because I enjoy getting my teeth scraped (shudder…it’s like nails on a chalkboard to me) but because I love my dentist and his staff! They always remember me and my life and it’s like I get to go hang out with friends for an hour. I’ll be so sad someday when I move and have to find a new dentist’s office. They also always tell me what pretty, healthy teeth I have. A girl can never have too many compliments!

However, when I was little I hated going to the dentist. First of all, he was always pulling out my teeth, which left me with gaping holes for years. YEARS. Secondly, he would tease me about being his girlfriend (in a good humored way) but being the incredibly emotional, sensitive child that I was (ugh, I feel so bad for my mom. Thanks for putting up with me!), it would make me so upset I’d cry. I dreaded the dentist.

IMG_2146

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, right now is crazy busy at work. I left at 7 pm, only for a break to eat some dinner and then came back to work. I have a HUGE project that needs to go to print by today so it was a necessary evil. However, I figured if I was going to be at work late (I stayed til 10!), that I was going to be happy about it. So I went and got myself a fro yo. I only feel a tiny bit bad about it. It was super delicious. Also, I don’t know why I’m making a fat face. Maybe it’s my guilty face?

IMG_2153

The other day I had a friend ask me for suggestions on running books. I’m embarrassed to say I have never read one! I know! I should probably reconsider my blog title. Maybe it should say “See This Girl Eat”…because we all know I do that! (see picture above). Luckily, I have this lovely running/blogging/tweeting community so I reached out and asked for recommendations. Here’s the list I have compiled:

  • How to Run by Paula Radcliffe
  • Born to Run by Christopher McDougall
  • Lazy Girl Running by Laura Fountain
  • Run Like a Mother
  • Runner’s World Big Book of Marathon and 1/2 Marathon Training
  • Running for Women by Kara Goucher
  • No Need for Speed by John Bingham

Holy moly! Looks like my summer is officially booked! I can’t wait to get reading! I hope this gives you some recommendations for running books if you’re in the market for one. I know I am now!

Do you enjoy going to the dentist?

What’s the latest you’ve stayed at work?

Any other running book recommendations?!

30 thoughts on “running books. books for runners.

  1. Born to Run was such a great book! I couldn’t put it down. I just bought the Chicken Soup for the Soul: Runners book. I’m working through a giant pile of books to read, but I’ll start it eventually, haha.

  2. I hate going to the dentist. I am glad you enjoy it! I will have to pick up one of the books listed above. Surprisingly, I have never read a running book. When I used to work a FT 9-5 job, before becoming a stay-at-home-mom, the latest I would work was 7pm. That didn’t happen to often, I would normally get off at 5pm.

  3. There are so many running books I want to read as well!!! Once I am on break from this thing called “school” I will hopefully have more time to read!!
    I am obsessed with Kara Goucher!! I just sit at Barnes and Nobles and read her book (I am too cheap to buy, and I am already almost done with it ha)

    And my DAD is a dentist!! So yes, I love my dentist πŸ™‚

  4. I also love going to the dentist for many of the same reasons! I get a lot of strange looks when I tell people that I love my dentist.

    The latest I’ve stayed at work is probably 8pm but that was when I was working in the hospital and doing shift work πŸ™‚

    I am definitely going to check out those book recommendations – thanks for sharing!

  5. Cute new blog banner! Having talented friends is such a good thing! I hate the dentist. Haven’t been in years! I probably should go sometime soon… 10 pm at work?! Girl! Get it! I would have gotten 309483048 froyos if I was there that late! Clearly I’m an underachiever and can’t even answer that ‘how late’ question because if it’s 5 pm, I’m either en route to my car or already on my way home! hehe!

  6. I need to read some more running books. My mom just sent me a title of one she read called “the Chi book of running”. I need to steal it from her when I get home. What better way to learn about running than from the pros?

  7. No Need for Speed was the perfect book for me when I was just starting out with my running a year ago. A couple of weeks ago Born To Run came in the mail! I can’t wait to read it!
    I would also recommend Mile Markers by Kristin Armstrong. πŸ™‚

  8. I don’t really dread going to the dentist, or the doctor, for that matter. The lady doctor sometimes bothers me because I haven’t found one I like (and I’ve been to like 5 in the last two years), but other than that, it doesn’t bother me!

    When I worked at the state park, during sea turtle season I would be at work from 5 am until 7-8pm. Those sea turtles sure kept us busy!

  9. I HATE going to the dentist. And… the dentist is my dad. Oops. I just got Hal Higdnon’s Marathon and Run Fast books. Going to take them to the beach with me!! I will let you know if they are worthy to add to your list.

  10. I use to do double shifts at the hospital so id work from 7a to 12a! Brutal. I still do them occasionally and they’re rough. I’m reading born to run now and love it!

Please feel free to leave a comment

