graduation reminiscing

My friend Kenzie moved into our apartment officially yesterday so we had a roommate dinner…

577574_10200584385426550_1821457629_n

Plus we made Muddy Buddies. These used to be a staple in our apartment but we hadn’t made them in a REALLY long time. I almost forgot how delicious they are! Here is the recipe we used.

IMG_2190

Today is graduation day at my university and I can’t believe it’s already been 2 years since I graduated from college! Seriously, where does the time go?! I have some friends that are getting their undergrads today and some that got their Masters’ yesterday and I’m so jealous of the experience they get to have. I loved my graduation day! It was so fun and so surreal. So if you’ll allow me, I’d like to take a trip Β back in time…

7

As you can see my parents got me tons of leis. I even had to take some off because they completely covered my neck! But man oh man, they were pretty! I still have a string of them hanging on my bookshelf. These are friends from my program.

8

During the ceremonial walk to the University graduation ceremony.

9

I wouldn’t trade my college experience for anything or the pride I have in myself for following my dreams and getting a college degree. I love my school, I love what I studied, I love the experiences I had and yes, sometimes I wish I could go back and experience it all over again (along with change some decisions I made haha).

220154_10150590513150181_839735180_18549214_4116734_o

A couple of weeks ago, I got to do a tiny, impromptu photo shoot for a university publication and got to pretend I was graduating all over again. It was the best ever. Maybe someday I’ll go back for my Masters, just for the sake of being able to graduate again. And so that people have to call me Master Alyssa. Obviously.

IMG_1940

Congrats to everyone graduating this spring!!! What an amazing accomplishment!

When did you/will you graduate from college?

(I know I already asked this but in case you didn’t answer) What did you study/are you studying?

Favorite part about graduation? Sitting with all my friends from my major and thinking “wow. we did it!” and then having my name called so I could walk across the stage. Also, singing our fight song and feeling the biggest surge of school pride. I just loved the whole day!

13 thoughts on “graduation reminiscing

  1. I call that puppy chow! I haven’t had it in FOREVER…so I’m thinking I might need to make some now πŸ˜‰ I graduated in December 2011, but I graduated early so I only graduated with a handful of my friends. I was really excited to graduate because I’m the first person in my family to graduate from college, so it was a great experience!

  2. Undergrad– graduate May 2012 from Purdue University– Environmental Science and Political Science
    Grad– Will graduate December 2014 from Indiana University– Masters in Public Affairs and Masters in Environmental Science

    Fave part about graduation was the family and DINNER that night!!! so funn!!!

  3. All of my graduations feel so long ago! College was 10 years ago, and grad school was 4 years ago.

    And like Cori, we also called it puppy chow πŸ™‚

Please feel free to leave a comment

