didn’t want to hear that

Yesterday I was at a doctor’s appointment and we were discussing my thyroid lab results (totally normal!) and I asked my doctor the reason why I seem to have trouble losing weight. She told me that because I’m at a normal weight, I can use exercise to tone up but I probably won’t lose weight. I wanted to cry.

Now I KNOW the number doesn’t mean everything, I KNOW it doesn’t give an accurate representation of my health, I KNOW I feel stronger and more fit and my clothes fit looser, I KNOW muscle weighs more than fat….I know all these things! Trust me, I spent 4 years of my life studying the body and exercise and health. But still! It’s frustrating to be working hard and for that little number not to move one bit. Now it’s a challenge. I’m going to prove her wrong. (in a healthy way, of course)

Β challenge-accepted

Today I leave the office for a work related retreat. It will be fun and, while it is nice to get to work out of the office for two days (and start casual Friday a day early!), it’s always a little stressful, because I know there will be catch up work when I get back! Anyone else go through the same…I guess, work guilt?! I was at work until 9 last night and will be working for a couple of hours this morning before we take off. My next couple of posts will be on the road. That should be interesting. We’ll see how my blogging app works out!

If you didn’t get to participate in the #Blogsmarter Twitter Chat last night, you missed out! It was awesome! As usual πŸ™‚ I really enjoy these and the hour just went by so fast! I can’t wait for the recap so I can take it all in. I believe a couple of the lovely hosts will be doing a recap post, so I’ll be sure to let you know when that is up!

There were a couple of things that were brought up Β that I did want ask you guys about:

  • Do any of you self-host? What are the benefits? Any cons? Where do you self-host from? I think I want to do this eventually, so I’d like all the information on it that I can get!
  • Do any of you have blogging business cards? Would you recommend them? I guess it’s just not something that ever occurred to me!
  • What do you do to stay safe while blogging/using public forums?
  • What programs do you use to make your pictures look better?Β This is especially needed because I seem to only ever have my phone with me! (as you guys have probably noticed) I don’t even know where my actual camera is…oops.

Well, I still have to pack, so I better go. What is it about packing that is so awful?!

Tricks and tips for blogging on the road?

Has your doctor ever told you something you didn’t like to hear?

What did you learn from the #blogsmarter chat?

17 thoughts on “didn’t want to hear that

  1. I found that the twitter chat was very helpful too. That hour went by way too fast. I need to check out all the apps people were suggesting for pictures. I only use my iphone right now. I can’t wait for their recaps of the chat. I don’t self host nor do I have business cards. It never occurred to me to have business cards :/ I have only been out of town twice since I have started my blog and both times I just brought along a note pad with me to make notes and just used my iphone for picture taking, nothing fancy. I know my hubby was giving me the stick eye yesterday during the twitterchat, cuz I was glued to my phone for over an hour. oh well. he got over it. πŸ™‚

  2. SO glad you were able to participate last night πŸ™‚ I always enjoy seeing my blogging friends there!
    I hope you have a blast on your retreat!!

  3. I missed out on the Twitter chat last night and I’m very bummed, but I cannot wait to see a recap! Have fun on your retreat!!

    You are beautiful, but if you want to lose weight, I support that!! I know how hard it is when you want to see a certain number..that’s why I am trying not to weigh myself this month. It’s very, very, very tough, but I know it doesn’t define who I am!

    • Thanks Rachel! You’re so sweet. I have stopped weighing myself and trying not to care about the number but I caught a peek yesterday and then when she said that I was just bummed. I know that’s not what’s most important. But I really appreciate the support!
      Hope you and your friend had fun!

  4. I have a feeling I would hear the same thing from my doctor, but it is still so frustrating!!

    I use Bluehost for webhosting.. I didn’t have that easy of a time transferring, but if you call, they will answer your questions very fast and you will have an easy ride! It is kind of confusing, though, so I do suggest to call customer support no matter who you use!

    I do not have blogging business cards. I guess I don’t understand the points as of right now!
    I use picmonkey and photoshop for picture editing! I love both. I make a lot of my workouts on Photoshop.

    Have a blast on your retreat!! I am sure the stress of going back to work is enough to put a damper on it 😦

    This is a long comment! Haha Sorry! I use wordpress app and it is very easy to use and works well! The dr tells me everything I don’t want to use. They never know what is wrong with me 😦 It’s so frustrating!

  5. I’m so sad I missed the chat last night. I will have to read the recap.
    I’m going to be away and busy this weekend too. I’m just going to write my posts ahead of time and schedule them. Then I can do a recapture of the weekend when I get back.

    My Dr has told me many things I didn’t want to hear. First she told me I wasn’t getting pregnant because I was overweight. Then I lost the weight so I wasn’t getting pregnant because I exercised too much. I understand these are legitimate reasons why some women are unable to get pregnant but these were given to me without tests. I have a new Dr now.

  6. I have no suggestions for blogging stuff, but for the weight loss issue, blah. Although, in the future you may still want to get the thyroid testing as it can be normal for a while and then boom go hypo, but have you looked into what you are eating. I am sure you are watching and all that, but potentially are you eating too little for what your body is doing? I’m new to reading your blog so I don’t know your history if you work out a lot, HIIT, etc but a lot of times we get to a plateau as our body is done being underfed and so it holds on to any calorie, and for myself anyways, holds onto the fat on my body. I”m still a ‘work in progress’ as I had a baby among other things that happened, but I am still figuring out the right number to eat.

  7. I couldn’t believe that I had plans last night and had to miss another one of the Blog chats!! I’m glad you all had lots to talk about and I’ll be waiting to hear all about it.
    Right now I use WordPress and I don’t think business cards are for me at this time! I always bring my laptop with me when I travel so I can blog on my computer.

  8. I think it’s important to remember, regarding weight, that muscle really is denser than fat, but takes up less space. So if you’re focusing on burning fat and gaining muscle, you’ll notice your clothes fitting nicer and you’ll look “better” in the mirror, but the scale will ALWAYS lie to you.

    It makes me so sad how much emphasis women in general put on the number on the scale. I hope you move on from that disappointment quickly and realize you rock, no matter what number you see.

Please feel free to leave a comment

