needle and thread game

Saturday I was supposed to go to my good friend Perla’s baby shower (she’s having her 2nd, a little girl!!! can’t wait!) but I wasn’t able to make it, so instead she and I got together tonight. She cooked us some petite sirloins, mashed potatoes and rolls. I contributed a spinach salad with strawberries, blueberries, cranberries and almonds. All of it was super delicious. Just trust me since you can’t see it.

Afterward we were talking and catching up and she was telling me about how her friend had done the needle and thread test on her. Have you heard of it? It’s a test that tells you how many kids you’re going to have and the genders in order. She said that they had been right so far (she has a little boy) and predicted a few more children. Her friend that did it to her had it done multiple times and it always came out the same and accurate for the three kids she currently has. It’s kinda creepy! So of course I made her do it to me.

needle_and_thread

What you do is thread a needle and hold it above your wrist. It’s better if someone else does it so that you don’t move it. Then all of a sudden the needle will move. If it moves in circles it’s a girl and if it moves in a line it’s a boy. The needle will move for the first baby, stop, then start moving for the next one. I kid you not, it really happened. So according to the needle I will have girl, girl, girl (heaven help me) and then a boy. I tried it again on myself when I got home and I got girl, girl, girl, boy, girl. Guess only time will tell if it’s accurate. 😉

pg-gender-reveal-baby-socks-full

So my new shoes that were so awesome…well, I now have shin splints. I forgot how much these things can hurt. I think going from running on shoes that weren’t giving me any arch support to running on ones that were giving me a lot more support messed with me. Especially since I did a long run for my first run with them. I’m not one to ease into things and now that’s hurting me. But you guys! I can’t be injured!! My next half is in like 25 days and I WILL be PRing. Sooo…whatever it takes to get better and get me there at the same time. Don’t worry, I won’t push too hard. But this is how I will feel.

sad-kids04

By the way, I finally saw Pitch Perfect….it wasn’t all that great. Maybe my expectations were too high or maybe I’d already heard all the funny lines quoted, but it just wasn’t all it was cracked up to be. However, I will say that I LOVED the music. So, so good! But the rest of it…acca-meh.

Have you ever done the thread and needle game? What were your results?!!

I need to fix my shin splints fast. Help!

Did you like Pitch Perfect?

16 thoughts on “needle and thread game

  1. I have NEVER heard of the needle/thread game… so weird/crazy?? ha I don’t know what to think of it! I am afraid to do and find out i won’t have ANY kids! ahhh!

    If you or any person for that matter, discovers an ACTUAL solution for shin splints… please share ASAP. Uhh I am sorry girl they are so annoying! 😦

    I have never seen Pitch Perfect… but yes the sound track is amazing!!! Love it!

  2. Shin splints – walk on your heels, draw the alphabet in capital letters with your foot while sitting down, calf raises. Also, pay attention to your cadence and form and make adjustments as necessary. Stretch, ice, stretch, and ice again. Good luck!

  3. I’ve heard of the thread game but I don’t think I’ve ever done it. It’d be interesting to see if it plays out for you 😉 Try foam rolling your shins! I know it won’t be a super cure-all, but it definitely makes me feel much better. I am in the same boat as you with Pitch Perfect…it was just okay. There were some lines that were funny, but other than that, it was just an okay movie. Everyone I know is obsessed with it though!

  4. I’ve done that needle game a million times and always get the same thing- one girl and one boy. Also, according my a palm reading I will also have only two children. I am starting to believe it. And I didn’t love Pitch Perfect either.

  5. I have yet to do the needle and thread game.
    I am the same way with new shoes. I get so excited I just jump to get a long run in them. Thankfully it hasn’t hurt me. Shin splints suck. I’m sorry. Hope you find something that helps.
    I have seen Pitch Perfect. I have to agree it was just ok.

  6. I have heard of the needle thread game, but never tried it myself. I would be curious though……For your spin splits, have you tried compression socks? That is the only thing I have heard that has helped others in the past. Hope you find something that helps!

Please feel free to leave a comment

