HP Summer Extravaganza

My coworker has another position in our building also and in her new office she found these stuffed animals, left unclaimed by the last tenant. She had no use for them, so I took them to my friend’s because she has a little boy and will soon have a little girl. But they did get to hang out in my office for a few hours. I named them Moose and Puppy. I’m super creative.

IMG_2415

I wanted you to get a feel for how big these stuffed animals really are, so I took a picture with them. It was actually pretty difficult to hold them both AND take the picture. A lot harder than it looks.

IMG_2420

This post is about to nerd out like I’ve never nerded out on this blog before. Hopefully, you can relate.

My friend Deborah loves Harry Potter. LOVES! I don’t love it quite as much as she does, but I still love it a lot, so when she suggested having a weekly Harry Potter party to watch the movies (one each week), I was reminded why we’re best friends. Best. Idea. EVER!

Last night was the first night and we started off the Harry Potter and theΒ Sorcerer’s Stone. Do you remember what year that movie was released? 2001! Holy cow! I grew up with the awesome experience of being as old as Harry, Ron and Hermoine were in the books, so I was just a year older than him with the movies. This might sound super nerdy (I’m beyond caring about being judged) but I really felt like they were my friends! They were a big part of my childhood and my growing up years! Anyway, the movie night was a success!

Some of us dressed up. I’m a Gryffindor, so I made Teddi (who was also dressed as a Gryffindor, although she has not yet been sorted on Pottermore) take a picture with me. HP parties are about all graduation robes are good for after the actual graduation.

IMG_2425

We also had HP themed treats. One thing you can’t see is the Butterbeer. Whoa. It was really sweet and rich. Almost too much. Plus it’s the most carbonation I’ve had in REALLY long time. Bad Alyssa!

IMG_2424

It was a lot of fun and I can’t wait to keep doing this every week for the next 7 weeks til we finish all the movies!

Another goal I have this summer with my friend Nan is to acquire all the seasons of Friends and watch them in order from start to finish. I have done this a couple of times already, but seriously that is my all time favorite show. I’ll never get sick of it.

Admit it, are you a Harry Potter fan?

Have you been sorted on Pottermore? What house are you in??

If you’re not a HP fan, what do you nerd out about?

21 thoughts on “HP Summer Extravaganza

  1. I need nerdy friends that will have Harry potter parties with me! I’m living vicariously through my kids and hope that when they reach the age I can start reading the books to them (they are 4 &5) that I can talk them into *cough* force *cough* having a HP bday party!

  2. i am a HUGE HP fan!! I am also the EXACT same age as them!! I totally relate… i feel like they were my friends!!! Those books are timeless.. seriously. I can’t wait to force my kids to read them and then of course watch the movies.
    I love how all out you guys went haha… jealous!!

  3. Oh my gosh, I love this post so much right now. I’m a HUGE HP fan. I reread all 7 books every summer. They have so much to offer, and I realize something new every time I read them! The moves disappoint me SO much, but they’re really fun/cute as separate entities from the books :o)

  4. I have the same birthday as Harry Potter, the character, so I think I’ve one-upped you πŸ˜‰ For my 21st birthday, I had a HP themed b-day party (b/c we have the same birthday, duh), and one of my friends came dressed in all white with a birthday card tied to her leg like Hedwig.

    Not ashamed of my nerdiness πŸ˜€

  5. LOL, my bestie loves HP and wanted some sort of HP related tattoo to go along with her nerd love! I am not quite on board with such things, but my nerd out are board games like Carcosone and Dominion, totally unheard of and totally nerdy. πŸ™‚ Have a great weekend!

  6. I tried to watch the first three movies- each one I fell asleep during them- more than once.
    I also tried to read the first three books (before the movies of course)– also fell asleep while reading them.

    Can we still be friends?

  7. I am a big Harry Potter fan and I’ll never be ashamed to admit it! (Also, I love that you wrote your questions in Gryffindor colors)

  8. I loved the Harry Potter books. I haven’t seen all of the movies… sometimes I think I should read the books again first.
    Your theme party was a hit! It looks like you had a GREAT time! Woo-hoo!
    I have not been sorted. I’d certainly want to be in Gryffindor.

  9. I don’t know if I’ve commented on your blog before, but I definitely enjoy reading it! I’m Rachel. While I am not a Harry Potter nerd (I stopped reading after the 5th book, please don’t judge me!) I am a HUGE FRIENDS fanatic. I’ve only watched every season about 12 times and my screen name is even NotRachem, from the episode where Ross makes a pro/con list about Rachel and Julie. That’s totally my nerd show. Sometimes I talk about them like they are real people. πŸ˜‰

Please feel free to leave a comment

