Happy National Running Day!

Yesterday I had such a good run! After work I went home to change (I had packed a gym bag but forgot headphones and didn’t feel like running without them) and then headed to the gym. I had a great 5 mile run. It wasn’t incredibly fast, but I felt strong and capable. It was a great feeling!

35n0smxx_1370409741

Today is National Running Day!!! That just makes me so incredibly happy! I think we should all celebrate but…umm…well…running! I have a speed workout of 10 x 400 at a 5k pace today. Second to last speed workout before the race! Hope it makes me extra speedy!

I created the badge above at nationalrunningday.org. You should totally go make your own! For me, running is all about beating myself. It’s about overcoming my mind wanting me to stop, it’s about making my legs go just a little bit farther, it’s about setting new PRs and achieving new goals. Because I thinks sometimes we can be our own worst enemy when it comes to working out, I made my badge say “I’m stronger than I think I am”.

In honor of National Running Day, check out my past posts on Why I Run and How it All Began!

Today this cute sister of mine graduates from high school, so I’ll be going into work for a couple of hours and then heading home to see her and the rest of my family. Can’t wait!! Also, can’t believe that in a few short hours, we’ll no longer have kids in high school in our family. In a few short months when the little one goes off to college, our parents will also be empty nesters. Crazy how quickly time goes by!

photo-36

Isn’t she cute?! I just think she’s great. Can’t wait to cheer obnoxiously loud as she walks across the stage!!!

Complete the phrase “I run…..”

How are you celebrating National Running Day?

When was the last time you went to a high school graduation? college graduation?

7 thoughts on “Happy National Running Day!

  1. I run because it makes me a better me, sets me free, and makes me feel invincible.

    I had intended on running this morning, but my chest infection said otherwise. I actually feel worse today than on the last three days I ran and pushed myself through the infection? I think I’m gonna try a 2-mile warmup before my weights class tonight.

    High school graduation was 3 years ago (my sisters) and college graduation was my friends graduation from grad school on May 4!

Please feel free to leave a comment

