I need a marathon training plan

This morning I got up and did a little bit of yoga and some stretching. Felt awesome!! My soreness has definitely gone down and it was nice to be able to stretch out a little. I now look like a little less of a fool going down the stairs πŸ˜‰ I also got in a #plankaday and of course had to entertain myself with taking the plank pictures. It really does help time go by fast!

plank

My mom put this up on Facebook and I thought it was awesome, so I wanted to share it with all of you! I think these things can apply to so many different parts of life, including running.

success

Ok, I really do need your advice for a marathon training plan! I know a bunch of you out there have run marathons, so help a sister out! I start on Monday, so I need to find out kinda quick.

Right now I’m looking at using one of the Hal Higdon training plans. I used one of the half marathon training plans for the one I just did and everything seemed to go well, so I thought I’d give it a shot if I don’t find something else I like better.

Patty at Reach Your Peak posted about using Hanson’s Marathon Method.

I’ve Googled marathon training plans and I basically just need a little guidance.

So those of you who have run marathons or who have heard good things about certain training plans, what would you recommend?

Do you agree with the list of what successful people vs unsuccessful people do?

What was your workout today?

21 thoughts on “I need a marathon training plan

  1. I agree with everything except for the journal part as well. I consider myself to be successful, and the trait that really struck me was “exude joy.” I’m willing to bet that if you asked someone who sees me often enough to name a time when I wasn’t happy/laughing/smiling, they’d have a tough time!

    I ran 3 miles this morning and I’ll probably just take a nap when I get home from work. I’m dragging today for some reason!

  2. I haven’t run a marathon, so you can take this with a grain of salt, but I loved Hal’s program for the half I did. I would most likely use his plans for a marathon too.

  3. I used Hal for my first marathon and it did the work. My only goal was to finish so I didn’t need something specific for me per say.

  4. I have used Higdon for my marathons and loved them. I tweaked the intermediate plans for my own hybrid last time and am currently using his Advanced plan for an Oct marathon.
    The plans in the Train Like a Mother (anothermotherrunner.com) are great too! Good Luck finding the right fit for you!

  5. I have heard great things about the Hal Higdon plan. Best of luck, whatever you decide.

    I love the list of Successful vs Unsuccessful people. I read AND watch TV everyday, but it’s all about balance, right?

    No workout today, unless you count the 1/2 mile walk from lunch to pick up the car from its oil change. I’m in a recovery week and taking it easy.

  6. I actually have prepared running plans for a few people and use to coach a road running team. If you like we can talk about your goals and go over different methods and any questions you may have about run training. Email me. There are a lot of good plans available via Runners’ World, Competitor, google searches, etc, but you should look into developing a plan custom made to your schedule, competencies, and goals.
    Best,
    Choy
    cbacor@gmail.com

  7. I am currently training for my first full marathon. I am using runners world smart coach training plan. I have used RW’s plans for all my races I have done over the course of almost 5 yrs and they have all worked for me.

  8. whenever I need a quick plan that I can easily modify to my own schedule, I hit u halfmary.com. It’s kind of nice just to have that breakdown of mileage week-to-week, with the flexibility of being able to move workouts around. I found the SmartCoach on Runner’s World to be helpful, too, another flexible tool πŸ™‚

  9. I am currently using Hal’s 30 week marathon training plan and am in week 13. So far so good! It’s a good pace for increasing mileage and I don’t feel super overwhelmed at all. I think 30 weeks will have me ready!

  10. Pingback: Running 101: Form | see this girl run

Please feel free to leave a comment

