Freedom Run Race Recap

Hello! Did everyone have a fantastic fourth?? I did my race, saw the Lone Ranger and went to a BBQ at my friend’s parents’ house. It was a good, American day!

As you know, this was my first 15k and it was hard on me! I don’t know if I wast just having a hard running day, but it was not all that fun. I had to keep reminding myself that I could do it, that my body was more capable than my mind, etc. It was also pretty humid for Utah, so that wasn’t great (trust me, I lived in Houston, so I know real humidity!). At least it was overcast.

It was fun though to be with my friends Kaili and Megan. We got all decked out for America.

943284_10151469737391576_1637218078_n

1013469_10151469737481576_1164823198_n

I was pretty happy with my pace until I hit a hill that spans part of mile 7 and 8. It was death!!!! But I ran it the whole way, which was awesome. The only bad thing is that my legs were so exhausted after that hill that my pace slowed down quite a bit for the last couple of miles.

My splits were 8:15, 8:30, 8:28, 8:35, 8:19, 8:25, 8:51, 9:42, 8:49 and 8:14 for the last .3, with an 8:44 average. It’s pretty easy to see where death hill got me. My total time was 1:20:58 and I really wanted to get under 1:20, so this was kind of a bummer. Also, according to my Garmin, the course was 9.36, so my average pace was 8:39.

Again, this was a smaller race, so it was kind of fun to have a more community feel to it. There were only two aid stations (I think it could have used a 3rd). The race ended at a park where families were setting up for 4th of July breakfasts. We were very grateful for the water, gatorade, bread, bananas, and oranges at the end. Delicious!

IMG_2636

You know, I didn’t finish the race thinking “wow, I want to do that again!” But then I found myself thinking “I’m coming back for you, Hill!!!” So maybe I’ll try it again next year 🙂 But it definitely gave me something to improve on and next time kick its butt!

Did anyone else race yesterday?

Any fun plans for the weekend?

12 thoughts on “Freedom Run Race Recap

    • Yes! When I was writing the post I felt like a hypocrite, because I kept saying how things weren’t going well but I still kept writing about how “fun” it was. Only a runner right? 🙂

  1. You and your friends are adorable in those pics! Sorry you didn’t “nail” the race, but it sounds like you did VERY well under the circumstances (humidity + a hill?! Yikes!).
    Tomorrow is my first long run of marathon training.

  2. Love your attitutde on the race!! It takes a very tough runner to keep going and push your self through races that just feel awful!! you definitely gained some great mental racing strategy for future races that will only make you tougher!! Way to go girl!!

Please feel free to leave a comment

