Like a bandaid, attachment issues and your expertise is needed

Well it’s begun. Now that the cat is completely out of the bag about my much sooner than anticipated big move, the good-byes have started. I don’t know if I can handle this being dragged out! It’s going to tear my little heart out. Can we just have one little moment where I just say “ok, see ya later!” and drive off?? Like a band-aid. It will just be much better for me since I’m prone to crying. A lot.

I had so much fun though going to dinner and spending quality time with these ladies. I’m coming to very consciously appreciate the amazing friends that I have here in this town and I’m really so, so sad to leave them. Hey everyone, just move with me! That will solve all of this! πŸ™‚

photo-41

We went to Olive Garden and I got the stuffed chicken Marsala. YUM!!! Except I felt really weird about going to Olive Garden and not eating pasta, so I switched out the mashed potatoes that come with the chicken to angel hair. I thought it was a great trade. I saved half of it and can’t wait to come home from church to eat it for lunch!!

I spent a good chunk of yesterday going through my clothes and getting rid of things I haven’t worn for…well years. I’m trying to reduce the amount of things that I have to move. It was hard. Suddenly I found myself very attached to some scarves I had completely forgotten I owned. Speaking of scarves, I probably got rid of at least 10. Not exaggerating. I also probably have at least 10 left. I have a problem.

DSCN5817

Ok guys, I need your expertise. I REALLY want to take all the t-shirts I acquired over college (which is a LOT) and have a quilt made of them (like the one above). This fulfills two purposes. 1) I finally get rid of all those shirts and open up room in my drawers. 2) I still kind of get to keep them forever as a super awesome quilt, which will always keep me warm! However, I don’t know if I should just pay someone to do it for me or do it myself. I’ve had a few friends offer to make one with me but I just don’t know if I want to spend the time doing it. Also, it’s important to keep in mind that my sewing abilities are fairly basic. I can patch holes, sew buttons, etc. I’ve never made anything from scratch since my 7th grade home ec class.

So what do you think? Should I make it or pay for it?? Have you ever made one? Are they difficult?Β 

Do you find yourself strangely attached to things when you’re trying to declutter?

8 thoughts on “Like a bandaid, attachment issues and your expertise is needed

  1. You sound super busy girl… I think maybe you should just pay someone? Down the line maybe make your own with all the awesome running shirts you have or something! But with all you have going on right now it may not get done for a while… then it may never get done!! ha that is just my opinion! And you know the person would do a great job!!

    I am weirdly attached to all my stuffed animals. gahhh that is embarassing… I am 23 for crying out loud!! oh well.. sorry not sorry!! πŸ™‚ have a great day!!

  2. You’ve got lots on your plate… I’m thinking that paying for it will be awesome. Then you’ll HAVE it and it won’t feel like a burden hanging over your head.
    FYI ~ I wish I had done just that with a bag of t-shirt fragments I saved for years. Since I never was willing to pay the $$ I ended up getting rid of them and I regret it to this day.

Please feel free to leave a comment

