I’m so not ready for a marathon

As I write this, I am totally and completely wiped out! I may or may not make much sense through the rest of this post. You’ve been warned!

Yesterday I got in a 15 mile run for my marathon training. Um, that’s a long way to run!! I created my course on MapMyRun.com before I left, so I would know where to go in order to hit the right mileage and it took me a good 20 minutes to perfect the course, because I had to keep adding to it and changing it here and there to make it longer.

The weather was awesome. I never felt very hot (maybe because I ran through every sprinkler I saw…it was awesome) and I planned my course to go by two parks so I could get in some water breaks. I really need to buy a water belt. That would have helped a ton! I did get to run by some of my favorite places, so that was nice.

photo-47

I took it really slowly and my knees did end up hurting quite a bit throughout the run. But I did it! I have no idea though after that run how I’m going to be able to do 11 more. I barely made it to 15! I really need to amp up my training fast! However, I was very proud that I could go that far and there’s this one devil hill that always kills me that I rocked. So overall, it was quite a successful run.

When I got home, I stretched and decided lying on the floor was a great idea. It felt awesome. Also, I was EXHAUSTED all day long, just like I always am after racing halfs. Those of you who frequently run longer mileages, how do you do it and still function the rest of the day?! I was totally dead! Don’t let the picture fool you. I was just happy to be done 😉

photo-48

I spent the afternoon doing a few different things (include a nap. a beautiful, blessed nap) and went to a friend’s wedding reception. My roommates and I had our last roommate dinner and then I really jumped hard into packing. I packed for a few hours and I’m nearly done. It’s really strange to have my life comprised in boxes. However, I am very proud of the size of the piles of things I am getting rid of. So cleansing!

photo-49

It was a good day. A busy, draining day. It will be nice when all this moving business is done and over with and I can start settling into my new life. I can’t believe this is really, truly happening. It still doesn’t quite feel real.

Did you get in a long run this weekend?

Ok, seriously you guys, how do you keep up your energy for the rest of the day after such a long run??

If you could move anywhere in the world, where would you go and why? I think I would go to Boston. At least for a little bit. I just love that city.

17 thoughts on “I’m so not ready for a marathon

  1. I hear ya on the long runs! I’m also training for a full and have been doing double digits on my long runs. This morning I ran 14 miles! Yikes! It felt like I was running for days….. I do a little resting after but, can’t fully rest due to a toddler in the house, so I wear my compression socks all day and probably tomorrow too! Also I drink lots of water too! Good luck with your training 🙂

  2. Nice work on the long run! If I could move anywhere I would move to California… after the first week in August I’ll let you know if San Diego is the way I expected it to be. If so, then there 😉

  3. I’ve tried several methods of in-run hydration. I hated the running bottle in the hand and the water belt. I just didn’t like having that stuff sloshing around my waist. Then, I tried the Camelbak Rogue. I *love* it and highly recommend it for long runs!

  4. I’ve found that whatever distance we plan to run, that’s as far as we can go. Usually it’s a mind thing! In a few more weeks, 15 miles will seem way easier!

    I saw Cori’s post above about SD! I was just there yesterday…so beautiful and fun, but way colder than I was expecting!

  5. I’m always completely wiped after my Sunday long run. I’ve started getting up and fitting my run in a little earlier and then when I get back, heading straight for a nap. I let myself sleep until I naturally wake up before ‘starting the day again’, as though I never went out for the run in the beginning. I find my mind is pretty gullable and this tends to work!

  6. Whoa, I can’t imagine those miles! I feel bad for like a half hour after my long runs, b ut then I typically get energy. Unless my stomach acts up and then its a day that turns into a miserable one lol Congrats, though! You are going to be awesome at the marathon!

  7. Great job finishing your 15 miler! When I was training for a marathon (my first) in April, I found the 15 miler to be one of the most difficult. The following week I did 17, and it was not as bad. It’s a lot of work, so you’re supposed to be tired! I found taking a little nap later in the afternoon helped. Good luck to you! Just stick to your training plan, listen to you’re body, and you will do great!

Please feel free to leave a comment

