Profession of an 8 year old

Today I officially start my training  for my new job. I’m excited/nervous/anxious/happy all at once about it. I also get to stay at my parents’ for the week as I apartment hunt. Then on Saturday I’ll go back to my old place to get all my stuff and move down for good. On my way out of town today, I cried for the first 20 minutes of the drive. This transition into my new life is hard. I know this is right, I’m very happy about the changes and I know good things are coming my way, but that doesn’t mean it’s not hard. It’s nice to be with my family right now. It’s been a really fun evening.

First of all, check out this amazing sunset from their back deck. This isn’t unusual either. They get these kinds of sunsets all the time! I know because they each post it on at least a couple of different sources of social media.

sunset

Ever since my parents moved back to Utah from Texas, they keep giving me all of my things that I left with them when I left for college. This time it was a bag of violin and piano books and my old scrapbook. When I was about 9 or 10 my mom went through a phase where she thought we should scrapbook. Yeah….we’re not a crafty family so I don’t think it lasted too long. By the end of it, I was just using it as a place to glue things that I wanted to keep.

When I was  a kid, one thing I did all the time was start businesses. I was quite the little entrepreneur! I even made business cards to go along with my businesses. Well, in my little scrapbook last night, I found an old business card that I had made. Just read it. My title is the best part.

photo

“Art lessons. Also physical and emotional problem solving” Bahahahahaha!!! My mom and I were in tears laughing over this. Physical and emotional problem solving? I couldn’t have been older than 8-ish when I made this!! Little Alyssa cracks me up! Ironically, a small part of  my job actually could be classified as “physical and emotional problem solving”. Maybe I should make copies of this business card since it’s all ready to go. Except for all of the out of date contact info. But the rest of the card is stellar!

Well, here I go! Off to start this new chapter in my life. Here goes nothing. Today’s workout is going to be strength and a little cardio if I have the time.

Anyone else out there started a new job recently? Or about to start one?

What is something that you used to always do as a kid?

15 thoughts on “Profession of an 8 year old

  1. Oh, that’s awesome. I literally LOLed here. I never went as far as making up business cards. ha ha

    When I was in 6th grade my 3 BFFs and I had fake identities for our notes we passed in class. I was Claire Olivia Weethorn (C.O.W) The others were P.I.G. and H.E.N. No idea why I got the COW. Anyway… my fake profession was a psychiatrist. While that didn’t happen, my day job does involve listening to peoples problems and helping them through crisis. So… sorta. Just with less money and less schooling. And I can’t write scripts. LOL

  2. Haha! I love going through old bits at my Mum’s house. They always make me smile. Just wondering…did anyone ever call you for your physical and emotional problem solving all those years ago?…! 🙂

  3. hahaha I LOVE finding funny little things like this!! I found my journal from when I was 8… oh my gosh if we weren’t rolling on the ground dying over the content, it was the spelling that we were laughing at!! so fun 🙂

    Oh my goodness girl GOOD LUCK!! You will rock it! Be confident and brave! I know new jobs are scary! I will be praying for you! 🙂

  4. Love it! I made business cards allllll the time. I’m pretty sure I thought I was destined to be a professional baby sitter/detective for a few years thanks to the babysitters club books.

  5. Oh man, I can totally relate to the leaving Cache Valley in tears part! My husband was driving the Uhaul and I was in our car and I cried like a little baby! Good luck with your new job!

Please feel free to leave a comment

