Wednesday Wonderfuls: Pioneer Day Edition

For those of you unfamiliar with Utah history, today commemorates the day in 1847 that the Mormon pioneers entered the Salt Lake Valley after their trek west in search of religious freedom and decided to settle here. So today is Pioneer Day! It’s basically another 4th of July in my mind. There’s a parade, lots of festivities, BBQs, fireworks at night….see what I mean?? It makes July a fun month to look forward to because we get two holidays that are all about celebrating the place where I live (USA and then Utah). Good times!

So in honor of it being the 24th, today will be a Utah edition of Wednesday Wonderfuls.

1) I already mentioned this, but let’s officially count that we get two holidays in July. Awesome. Also you get to see children dressed up like this for parades.

1001483_10151687049274172_2025902176_n

2) Southern Utah and Northern Utah have completely different climates and terrain and they’re both beautiful!

FC96FBE784C929CACE9534C83197BB82

625585_10152578866200181_1109762460_n

3) Utahns eat more ice cream than any other state. No joke. We freakin’ love our ice cream out here(I’m counting froyo into this category too) I also didn’t realize how many pictures I actually have of myself eating ice cream. A lot.

296919_10151011678376724_160150847_n

4) If you like the outdoors, this is the place! (Utah humor. If you get it, you get it) From the “best snow on earth” for skiing, snowboarding, sledding, cross-country skiing, snowshoeing to mountain biking, hiking, camping, rock climbing, mountaineering, or even trail running, there’s a non-stop list of things to do outside. I know I missed about a million things on this list. I grew up mostly hiking in the summer and skiing in the winter. I love these mountains of ours.

401685_2743530943949_952504007_n

34964_10150221840315181_1164030_n

5) At the tip-top of Utah, we have the home of the Utah State Aggies!!! (aka my alma mater) I sure do love that place. Best school ever. (we have quite a few more universities but really I just wanted to mention mine.)

189185_10150459984490002_2167418_n

6) Fry sauce. If you’re doing it right, this stuff is 2 parts ketchup, 1 part mayo. It’s amazing. Fries just aren’t the same without it! I also like to put it on my burgers. This is a huge Utah thing, so if you haven’t tried it you totally should. Or ask for some if you ever come out here. People do variations on it (like putting in pickles, bbq sauce and even rootbeer). I just like the plain ol’ original. That’s the good stuff.

food-frysauce

7)  It’s super Utah to miss the letter “t” in the middle of words such as mountains. It comes out more like “moun-ins”. That means that some our cities like Layton are pronounced “Lay-un” or I’ve noticed sometimes I’ll even pronounce my brother’s name “Christian” like “Chrishen”. It’s fine. Who needs “t”s? They’re just slowing us down 😉

2PPz8hzjyM-10

8) In 2002, Salt Lake City was host to the Winter Olympic Games. I was in middle school when this happened and it was a lot of fun. Downtown was all decorated and there were so many people here! Now we can go up to Park City to the Olympic park and participate in fun events up there and the torch is still at Rice Eccles Stadium at the University of Utah. My orchestra also got to play at some sort of olympic expo event, so we got to learn the Olympics theme song. So much fun!

2002-Winter-Olympics

9) The name “Utah” comes from the Native American “Ute” tribe and means people of the mountains. A pretty appropriate name, I think!!

ute-dwelling

10) Lots of movies are shot in Utah. Because of our varied terrain, Utah is a prime place for a lot of different movie settings. You can find a list of just 50 here. Just to name a few: High School Musical, the original Footloose, the new Lone Ranger movie, Better off Dead, Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade, Back to the Future 3, Thelma and Louise, Forrest Gump, Dumb and Dumber, Independence Day, Galaxy Quest (bahaha! Remember this one!), Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End, and the new Star Trek.

26639

Hopefully you learned something and have a greater appreciate for the great Beehive State. Have a happy 24th everyone. You can use it as an excuse to celebrate, even if you’re not in Utah 🙂

Tell me something cool about your state!

What day do you celebrate your state’s beginnings? 

Are you doing anything fun today?

9 thoughts on “Wednesday Wonderfuls: Pioneer Day Edition

  1. I don’t know much interesting about my state as a whole… other than we’re the home of Abraham Lincoln, but my town is the “Bagel Capital of the World” and each summer we hold a festival known as “Bagelfest”. Good times! 🙂

  2. you already know i have a weird OBSESSION with your wonderful state and want to move there asap!!
    And yessss Galaxy Quest!!! hahaha oh my gosh such a great movie! so random!!!! love that you know of it… further proof we need to be friends!!!
    I love everything about skiing and hiking– i seriously just need to stop doing what I am doing and move there, don’t i???
    Fun Fact about Indiana??? um… hold on… give me a second… i know there is something…. haha i DO love the midwest! very very nice people!! ha just not my climate/wilderness choice 🙂

  3. Ha! I love that picture from Vegas. Easily the best jumping picture of my life. Also, the fry sauce one is interesting, because my ratios are just the opposite, twice as much mayo as ketchup… Haha. Yay for Utah!

  4. Pingback: “Check Engine” lights are kind of important | see this girl run

Please feel free to leave a comment

