Motivation Crisis

Ever since I started this blog, I get texts like this from my friends all the time and it makes me so, so happy! Definitely a great thing to wake up to (in the morning..I actually don’t wake up if my phone buzzes from a text).

photo

Confession: Lately, I have felt like a bit of a fraud. Somehow I’m inspiring my friends to go run and be active but my motivation levels have been tanking. I don’t know if this is normal, but I definitely go through a cycle where for a while I’m super motivated and excited and great about my workouts. Then all of a sudden, I stop caring quite as much., In the past this would lead to me not working out very much, if at all, for a period of time. Then something would light my little workout spark and I’d be back in the game, full force! The only thing that has kept me from completely blowing off all my workouts has been been this blog (this has been a great source of accountability!) and my upcoming marathon. 7 weeks away!

This cycle of motivated/not motivated is probably my one of my biggest flaws as a runner. It definitely requires me to work on my self discipline, my mental strength and to push myself harder than I want to be pushed. I know that if I can learn to conquer these down times, I will be that much stronger during the up times! Maybe I’ll even eventually overcome the downs altogether! That would be awesome 🙂 So for now, I’m working on shutting up that voice inside my head that says it doesn’t want to work out, the one that says it doesn’t want to train for a marathon, the one that says I can’t do it. Because I can. And I will. That voice is kind of a jerk.

So today’s post is mostly dedicated to motivation. Mostly motivating myself, but if any of these quotes hit home for you, even better!! I am really sensitive to the written word, so quotes have always been strong influences for me.

7c2a79a51a872e3722034ab742b92d9f

20ab399d9584b61bd05cc29595b5af91

76dbe320eef185d7530e07896caf10de

671508b29b925169edd4b167ceb1bf10

What do you do when you hit a down time in your motivation? I can’t be the only one, ever who feels this way!

Share with me your favorite motivational quote!

What did you do for your workout today? I did Workout A for week 7 of the Best Body Bootcamp

Oh! One more thing! Tonight starts the Finale of Bachelorette! Anyone else watching?? I already told my mom not to make plans for tonight. Now we get to finally see what all those girly tears are about 😉

11 thoughts on “Motivation Crisis

  1. Bahh girl I feel you! And after talking to loads of other runners… EVERYONE feels like this (even if they don’t admit it!) At least once a year, I get in a really big running funk and just can’t bring myself to do it/get excited/want it… and i hate it! When that happens, i dive into cross training (or just rest). I find it always comes back! I have never not had the running bug come back full force and I am SO EXCITED when it does! So don’t fret… you are not alone.. and it does not mean that you are “not a runner” or something– it means you are TOTALLY a runner!!!!!

    Also, in the final weeks before my marathon in 2011, I was so burnt out and READY to just get it over and done with that I was starting to hate running! I was sick of the training, the wondering, the planning, the worrying, the hours it takes to get ready…. So that may be a bit of what you are feeling as well! Just know that that “feeling” will leave you at the start line and you will KILL IT and that it probably just means you are much more ready than you think you are!! Your body is ready to run 26.2 girl!!! 🙂 YAY!!!

    • Andrea you are the best! You always make me feel better. I’m so glad that I’m not alone and especially that this may be partially due to the marathon training. It’s a package deal I guess 🙂 After it’s over, I’ll definitely take some time to cross train and do something other things for a bit. I really hope my body is ready! If not, I still have 7 weeks to prepare!

  2. I am pretty good at keeping my motivation up, but I do sometimes get down on myself when I am not doing as much as I think I should be doing. I do think you might have to step away, refocus your energy and come back to running in a little bit. That way, you will still enjoy it. Best of luck!

  3. Loved this! I’m about to start training for my first marathon and I’m bit time lacking in the motivation department especially with this summer heat! You’re not alone! I just always try to think about how much better I’ll feel when I’m done working out! I never regret working out, and my mood is always 100% better! Suck it up, cupcake! I have a headband with that slogan 🙂

  4. Loved this! I’m about to start training for my first marathon and I’m definitely lacking in the motivation department, especially with all this summer heat lately! I have a headband that says “suck it up, cupcake!” 🙂

  5. I go through the SAME thing and often feel like a fraud, too. Sometimes the people I motivate to run end up motivating me! It’s a great cycle of motivation :o) We all burn out once in awhile, especially if we’ve been training too much or with a lot of intensity. You’ll find your fire again soon!

Please feel free to leave a comment

