Outta Sight! Also, outta the English Language.

Last night my sister and I were teasing my mom for saying “I’m going to give you a knuckle sandwich!” (she wasn’t really. don’t worry) To which we replied that nobody said that anymore!

im-gonna-give-you-a-knuckle-sandwich

Then I said “Like, cowabunga dude!”, which my sister didn’t realize was a Ninja Turtle reference. Sometimes our 6 year age difference is very apparent (even though you couldn’t tell by looking at us).

It got me thinking about other phrases that have gone out of style. Do any of these sound familiar?

  • Outta sight
  • Phat
  • Cool your jets
  • I dig that
  • Being “fly”
  • Righteous!
  • Hip
  • All that and a bag of potato chips
  • Far Out
  • As if!
  • Check ya later
  • That’s sick
  • The cat’s meow
  • Bodacious

Ok, let’s be honest, I’ve said some of these in the not so distant past. It’s fine. I’m comfortable with it. But it was funny as I was reading these how long it’s been since I’ve heard these phrases used in serious conversation. I was also surprised at how many of them were said in a “valley girl” voice in my head. or a “Bill and Ted” voice. Depending on the phrase of course.

clueless8

In my searchings, I also found this list of words that have become obsolete. I think some of them should still be in use! Here are a couple of my favorites:

Snoutfair: A person with a handsome countenance

Wonder-wench: A sweetheart

Groak: To silently watch someone while they are eating, hoping to be invited to join them (I’m a guilty groaker)

Curglaff: The shock felt in bathing when one first plunges into the cold water (this has a name!!)

Resistentialism: The seemingly spiteful behavior shown by inanimate objects

With squirrel: PregnantΒ (umm…excuse me?!)

2270254340_6d1b129e5c

So there’s a blast from the past as well as some education on the English language for you. I know! You never expected to learn so much when you stepped into my little corner of the blogging world.

Any other outdated words/phrases you want to add to the list?

Favorite word from the list of obsolete words?

I’m in a learning mood today, so give me some trivia about whatever you want!

12 thoughts on “Outta Sight! Also, outta the English Language.

  1. I hate hate hate it when people say “NOT!” after saying something. I hated it when it first came on the scene in the 90s and I hate it 20 years later.

  2. haha these are so great!!— With Squirrel?? are we serious? I am for sure going to make that a popular saying again. It is too good to let die out…
    I too am a TOTAL groaker πŸ™‚ no shame!
    My brain is currently turned off right now so having a hard time providing you with an interesting fact… wow really, i got nothing!! if I think of one I will let ya know πŸ™‚
    have a great day girl!!!!!!!

Please feel free to leave a comment

