Choose Kindness

Great news! I have a place to live!! Hip hip hooray! I actually found it a couple of nights ago, but I didn’t want to say anything until I put down the deposit. Wouldn’t want to jinx it, of course. But tonight I put my money where my mouth is and the spot is mine! I won’t be able to move in for a couple of weeks still but that’s ok. Just knowing that I have that part of my life figured out is such a relief!

Yesterday at work, I had the unfortunate experience of conversing with a particularly awful individual. This man was rude, abrasive and angry the entire time I talked to him. His manner was so mean and uncalled for that it got my blood boiling pretty bad, which I of course had to restrain since I am the one who has to be professional no matter what. But boy oh boy did it make me upset.

images-4

There were other notes on his account of him treating other people in my company the same way, so I don’t think I can blame it on him having a bad day or something, though that may have added to it. I just don’t understand people like that. Why can’t people just be kind? I thought of other phone calls I had throughout my shift where people were very pleasant and they were such fun conversations. Even the ones where the people didn’t want to chat very much were fine. We got through the business that needed to be conducted and ended the conversation. No problem! Why would this man feel the need to yell all his responses at me and fight me on everything?

It was my last call of the day, so I left work in the worst mood I had been in since I’ve started working there. I even hoped that a nice person would call in before I left so that I could have some faith restored in humanity. But no.. I was left with that bad taste in my mouth.

1ff110eba765a4ceb28f47cfb0a288a6

As I drove home, I hated the way I was feeling. Nobody likes to be treated poorly and I tend to obsess over situations where I was treated bad for no apparent reason. I realized that no matter what he did or said, no matter how he could ever justify his total lack of manners, I had a choice in how I let it affect me. I knew I couldn’t let him affect my happiness. I knew I had to LET IT GO.

076927b3c99b609ee7db5ca7ed335309

So I decided not to let it make me mad. I turned on some of my favorite music and chose to be happy. I rocked out the rest of the way home and by the time I walked in the door I felt a lot better. Not completely better, but definitely not angry. I was still shocked that people like him exist. But as I type this I really do feel sad for him. What in the world could be so wrong in his life that he feels the need to treat people poorly to get what he wants? I never want to be that person. I want to be someone who lifts people up, who brightens others’ days and who is always kind, especially to strangers.

I don’t know what his story is and he has no idea who I am or what I’m about. There’s a quote that says something to the effect of “Be kind to everyone because everyone is fighting some type of battle”. Or something like that. So the next time you feel frustrated or feel the need to raise your voice, take a second to pause and choose kindness. It goes quite a bit further than anger.

tumblr_lq035lI7JC1qkdc95o1_500

Any good news on this lovely Friday?

Do you handle confrontation well? (no! even if I could retaliate, I probably wouldn’t…out loud)

Any fun plans for the weekend??

16 thoughts on “Choose Kindness

  1. Oh, you and I are so similar! I feel the same way when people treat me that way for no good reason. I don’t handle confrontation well at all – I tend to just shut down. I’m proud of you for making the decision to be happy. I’m going to have to try that next time!

    My only real plans for this weekend are a long run down Little Cottonwood tonight with a friend, then doing absolutely nothing but laziness the rest of the time. I figure a good 9+ mile run allows me that. (:

  2. I’m sorry you had such an awful encounter. Just know that it reflects more on him than on you, and that he must be a very unhappy person. Sad.

    I am pretty good at confrontation. I am very diplomatic and am able to stay level headed for the most part.

    We are doing some last minute back to school shopping and Mr PugRunner is taking little man to the driving range to give golf a try. Other than that, no major plans.

  3. I deal well with conflict and confrontation. I’m really straight forward and don’t want to deal with anyone’s crap, so I’ll tell it like it is…but still manage to be nice about it. Learned that from my momma. I’m just planning on relaxing this weekend! I’m exhausted from my 2 weeks in Costa Rica and I need to get back into the groove of things.

  4. uuugh…I work in customer service too – and by the time people get to me they are pretty irrate…I’ve pretty terrible things said to/about me by these miserable people over the years…it’s so frustrating…what gives them the right to treat others that way?!?!? I just don’t get it

  5. I love this girl…. so so true. I am actually very sensitive, which I think surprises people since I come off as a strong, confident girl in person. But I take everything to heart. I always have… and when someone is rude to me or is angry/upset with me, I take it very personally! My mom is always telling me to ‘shake it off’ and not to wear my emotions on my sleeves at work and to keep a cool and calm demeanor. It is hard to do and takes practice!
    But I agree with you that we NEVER know what that person had been through. I don’t think that justifies his behavior… but I do feel sorry for him and others with so much hatred and anger in their heart. That is a sad, isolating feeling! Way to keep your chin up and turn the situation around a bit and for sharing with us!! Good way to vent AND share a positive message πŸ™‚

    YAY FOR APARTMENT!! Seriously so pumped.. gave a little cheer when I read this!
    have a GREAT weekend girl and good luck on your long run tomorrow! I will be thinking about ya!!

    • haha you’re my favorite. and I’m glad you caught the double intention of this post πŸ˜‰ I’m so excited about it too! I can’t wait to move in. Too bad I have to wait a little bit but just knowing I have it relieves so much stress.
      Thanks girl! This run won’t be too bad I think. I can feel myself coming out of my funk a little. I’m sure you’re running too, so good luck to you too!

  6. So sorry you had to deal with that guy! I used to work as an underwriter at a auto finance company and would have to deal with mean customers and grumpy car dealers all day and it always left me bitter and in a negative mood when I got home. It is unfortunate that people can’t be nice πŸ™‚ If everyone was nice to each other then think of how this world would be so much happier. It takes less energy to be happy than it does to be unhappy πŸ™‚ No plans for the weekend, just running a 16 miler on sunday, Yay !

  7. I don’t understand people who are rude to customer service people. They’re just trying to help, and they didn’t cause the problem! But some people just have short tempers or have been dealing with tough stuff. I love that you just decided not to let it bother you. And you quoted one of my favorites…I always tell my students to “be kind, because everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle”.

Please feel free to leave a comment

