Fast Food Diet and Who Am I?!

Sometimes when it’s slower at work, I like to get on WebMD and click on different health topics to either brush up on information I haven’t used in a while or to learn something new. I figure I need to know my stuff, right?! Well yesterday I was on their site and I ran into this:

Screen Shot 2013-08-09 at 10.40.24 PM

The Fast Food Diet? I mean, if you read up on it, it’s really just teaching people how to make healthier choices at their favorite fast food restaurants and actually doesn’t encourage eating the fried stuff or things like mayo. But I still don’t like it. It’s still encouraging people to continue the bad habit of eating out a lot. I think one of the great things about eating healthy is making your meals at home and NOT spending a tremendous amount of money eating out. $5 here and $8 there really adds up fast. Plus I’m a sucker for fries. If I’m at a fast food place with fries, I’m not subbing out for a salad. Sorry, just keeping it honest here.

Anyway, I just thought this was an interesting article that I wanted to throw out to you guys. You can click on the picture above for the full article.

Last night my little sister and I got Jambas and watched Megamind. I hadn’t seen it in a couple of years and it was cute but I still like Despicable Me better. I haven’t seen the second one yet, but I need to!. My sister goes off to college one week from today, so I think it’s ok to watch these movies and keep her young as long as possible. Maybe I’ll dig up her Polly Pocket dolls and finally play dolls with her like she always wanted me to. (I hated dolls growing up. Nobody ever plays the right storyline)

imgres-11

Yesterday I was talking to a coworker who is really into running and he was asking about my marathon training. I told him of my frustrations and it turns out everything I’m going through is completely normal, especially for a first marathon. What a relief! (p.s. I’ve also believed all of you who told me the same thing. don’t worry. it was just that much more reassuring) I’m training my body to be strong and endure rather than go faster. Β I’m also building my mental strength in a way I’ve never had to before. I have to admit, even though at times it’s really hard and I wish I could quit, I am excited for the growth I have and will experience as a runner from all of this.

My friend was asking me if I had a long run this weekend and I replied “No. Just 12 or 13 miles”. Who am I?! Who is this person I’ve become?? 12-13 miles? Like a half marathon?? haha Oh man. We had a good laugh about that. I thought 12-13 sounded pretty good compared to last week’s 18 and next week’s 20.Β It’s all relative right?

17-who-am-i

Have a happy Saturday everyone!

What do you think of the Fast Food Diet?

What toys did you particularly NOT enjoy growing up?

Any fun plans this weekend??

12 thoughts on “Fast Food Diet and Who Am I?!

  1. It is my goal to drop lines like “oh just a casual 13 mile run”! Seriously, such a motivator when I am cursing my legs at 4 miles lol I just wrote a post for tomorrow about eating out and how unhealthy/expensive it is! Great minds πŸ™‚

  2. Ugh fast food makes me sick and I hate that people LOVE it! I understand encouraging people to make better choices at the fast food place, but calling it “The Fast Food Diet” makes it sound like it’s a fad diet where all you eat is fast food. If I am misinterpreting it that way, I feel like other people will misinterpret it that way as well!

    I hated Furbys. We begged our mom for one, but when we got one, it was terrible.

    I’m traveling tomorrow! Excited πŸ˜€

  3. I think it’s smart to show people that they can eat fast food in a healthy/balanced way. I wouldn’t necessarily encourage it as “daily” diet and a way to lose weight, but it’s good to let people know their options!

    I’m glad this burnout is normal, because I’m feeling it too! I need my mind to do some weightlifting so it’s strong enough to power through the next few weeks!!

  4. UGH. I’m really not a fan of that “diet” either…I personally find it fun to eat out (as in a nice restaurant, not fast food) once in a while (like on date nights : ) but, in general, I hate eating out. It’s such a waste of money! And it’s really hard to find a place that is as healthy as a home-cooked meal is anyway. I definitely don’t think eating out should be encouraged – I agree with you!

  5. I completely agree with you on the fast food diet. People should not be encouraged to eat fast food, because it’s so much better to eat at home. It is better for your wallet and your health! So many health issues could be resolved if people didn’t eat fast food as much.

  6. I don’t see much difference between this diet and those “send food to your doorstep” diets. There are usually “healthy” options at fast food places (albeit full of preservatives) so if you need the convenience of someone making food for you and have the $$ for it, I think this could work for some people. I’d just never want to do it because I’d miss cooking way too much! πŸ™‚

Please feel free to leave a comment

