Fires make for pretty sunsets

First I have to show you guys something. On my way to work I was getting off the freeway when this truck was in front of me. It was a really long, slow line getting through the off ramp, so I was behind this guy for a while. The whole way off the freeway, he straddled the white Β line. The.whole.time.

photo-61

I kept waiting for him to pull something illegal and try to go around traffic, but no, he just stayed right on that line and got way to close to the car ahead of him multiple times. Let’s just say I kept my distance. Eventually we all got off the off ramp safely. Also, I’d like to note that I was stopped when this picture was taken.

Yesterday, I woke up with a big stomach ache and just plain wasn’t feeling good, so I decided to push my workout to the evening. I took my running clothes to work and changed after I got off and drove straight to the high school track. That’s one thing I’ve learned is if I have to work out after work, if I pack my clothes with me I’m a lot more likely to go. If I have to go home to change, the probability of a workout happening drop dramatically.

My old high school is up on a hill and you have an awesome view of the valley. There are also a few fires burning in Utah (so sad) but it does make for great sunsets. I took these pictures just for you guys, even though there was a lady with her dog watching me. I’m sure she was confused as to why a girl would stop running to take pictures. The life of a blogger! Here is the view to the west toward one of the fires. It made the whole world orange!

photo-60

So beautiful!!! Then on my way around the track, my view to the east was just as stunning! Seriously, how am I so lucky to live in such a beautiful place?!

photo-59

My work out yesterday from “Run Less Run Faster” was as follows. The times in parenthesis are what times I actually hit.

10-20 minute warm up (10 minute warm up + dynamic stretching)

3 x 1600 @ 8:40 with 400 m Rest Interval in between each set (8:04, 8:16, 8:23)

10 minute cool down (check!)

It felt great! Although lately I have been kicking my inside right ankle with my left foot while I run and it hurts. I have a scab that I kicked a couple of times today and had to really concentrate on not kicking myself while I run. I think there’s something wrong with me!

Also, I think I hurt my right shin somehow. Not really sure but it hurt after my run and it still hurts, but it’s not a shin split hurt, it’s more surface hurt. I don’t know. This marathon is making me fall apart! haha At least I can recover afterward πŸ˜‰

What’s the strangest behavior you’ve soon on the road lately?

Are there pretty sunsets in your area?

How are your workouts going this week?

14 thoughts on “Fires make for pretty sunsets

  1. I haven’t seen a pretty sunset lately but the sunrises have been gorgeous lately! It’s so beautiful and humbling to see. “Run less run faster”…i need to work on that! I always want to run longer and don’t consider “quick” workouts to be complete unless they’re an hour. Bad mentality!

    • It’s funny because the workouts themselves aren’t short. At the shortest they probably take me an hour. But the schedule only has you running 3 days a week, so I think that’s the run less part. Then you’re supposed to cross train for 2 days. It’s awesome. I highly recommend it.

  2. Ok… you are just rying to rub it in now, arn’t you!!! Teasing me with those GORGEOUS pictures of Utah?!?! Not nice!! πŸ™‚
    Some drivers are so weird/dangerous and I wish they were never given a license!! I mean reallly… what was that guy doing?!
    Great job going for the run after work!! mental toughness right there girl! So pumped for your marathon which is SO SOON!!! yayyy!

  3. That looks like a great workout! I need to incorporate more runs like this into my workout schedule instead of all longer runs. I know it will help my speed.

    My workouts are going great this week! I have been able to incorporate running and strength training, so that makes me happy! πŸ™‚

    • You should try it! I liked it. Also you should get “Run Less Run Faster”. Even if you’re not in training for anything specific it would give you speed workouts to do. Love that book.

      Sounds like you’re doing great!!

  4. I wonder why you’re suddenly kicking yourself while running? Is it time for new shoes? That seems like such a weird habit to suddenly develop!

    Drivers like that are so annoying! I always get worried that they’re going to pull something really stupid.

  5. When I come home from work I come to a light that has 2 left turning lanes and 2 straight lanes. There was a car in the straight lane (closest to the left turning lanes) and when the arrows turned green, he decided to turn left, and whats even funnier is the car behind him did the same! therefore there were 3 rows of cars turning left… I got a little nervous!
    I definitely don’t have those views on my runs!

Please feel free to leave a comment

