Guest Post: Spicy Tomato Penne Recipe!

I’m so excited to have my good friend Stephanie on the blog today! You might remember when I went to her wedding in May. Gorgeous! This girl is amazing and such a great cook. So I asked her to share one of her recipes with us today! Make sure you check out her blog, Her Amateur Kitchen, for more yummy concoctions. Enjoy!

*******************************************************************************************************************************************************

I’m Stephanie-

Newlywed. Wannabe fitness junkie. Lover of goood food.

Alyssa and I have been friends for a couple years now, and I have loved seeing Alyssa’s journey through her running blog. I am constantly impressed by her dedication and hope to be a fraction of the runner she is!

You see, I am an amateur runner. I’ve ran in several 5 & 10ks, a half-marathon, and I recently ran the Wasatch Back Ragnar Relay, but I have taken WAY too much time off from putting my favorite pair of Brooks on. So when I say amateur, I mean it. I’m not trained– AT ALL.

I’m also an Amateur in the Kitchen.

When it comes to cooking, I want something that’s packed with flavor, makes me feel great and is EASY. The recipe I’m sharing with you today is one that I love before or after a big run. When I say before, I mean like the evening before (yay for carbs!). I love this recipe because it’s easy and super yummy.

Adapted from “Let’s Make a Baby Pasta” recipe.



/////////////////////////////



Spicy Tomato Penne

3/4 pound whole wheat penne

2 tablespoons olive oil + extra for grilling chicken

3 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes (I even put as much as a whole teaspoon for extra kick!)

One 14 ounce can crushed tomatoes

1/4 cup grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese

2 large chicken breasts

Salt

Pepper

///////////////////////////

Cook penne in boiling water until al dente, drain and set pasta aside in serving bowl

In a large skillet, heat olive oil over moderate heat, then add garlic and red pepper flakes. Cook until the garlic is soft, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon–careful not to let the garlic brown. Add the tomatoes and stir. Simmer until warmed through. Add salt to taste.

In a separate, lightly oiled skillet, grill chicken breasts seasoned with salt and pepper until golden brown on both sides.

Toss pasta with tomato sauce, reserving a few tablespoons of sauce to drizzle atop chicken. Place grilled chicken breasts on top of the pasta (I cut my chicken into strips). Pour remaining sauce and cheese on top of the chicken.

I really like how much you can tweak this dish, too. Sometimes I add some zucchini to the pasta sauce, and sometimes I leave the chicken out. You healthy peeps can omit the cheese…

but then it just won’t taste as good.



What’s your favorite meal before or after a run?

Do you consider yourself an amateur at anything?



What do YOU most admire about Alyssa??? (she better not delete this question…) {Note: Alyssa wanted to delete this..blushing over here}

4 thoughts on “Guest Post: Spicy Tomato Penne Recipe!

  1. oh my gosh this looks so good! i love that kind of cheese (even though it can be reallllly expensive) and I put red pepper flakes on everything. this looks like the kind of pasta dish that would actually keep me full! haha

  2. This looks amazing!! I’d make it vegetarian, but I LOVE this idea. Carbs, carbs, carbs, like pasta and breads, are my favorite before a run. I’m an amateur strength trainer and I would probably say I’m still an amateur runner because I’m not fast at all..but I can go for a long time!

  3. Pingback: Unpacking is Hard | see this girl run

Please feel free to leave a comment

