Before I Die I Want To…

Let’s take a moment to talk about how amazing my alma mater is and how time after time the people there have shown some of the best traits we humans possess.

On Monday, Eric Anderson, a 24 year old USU student, was riding his bike down Old Main Hill when he ran into a slackline that had been left up. Eric was taken to the hospital where he soon afterward died. Utah State is a small school but not so small that you know everyone there. However, we are all part of the Aggie family and we care about every member of that family. Eric’s accident and death shook the campus and I read countless posts on various social media sites offering condolences to Eric’s family and expressing sincere grief for the loss of a young man’s life. What a sad, tragic start to the new semester.

I saw this picture on Facebook and had to share it with you all. I think it’s amazing and very inspiring. I’m sure this chalk board was planned to be put out this week anyway, but I love that they turned it into a celebration of life for Eric. (The students also have been wearing light blue ribbons on their clothes in his honor.)

1174972_10201923661721990_1614933842_n

Some of the responses were silly but I love how many of them were so cool! “visit every friend” “make the best of my opportunities” “live life for me” So I decided to make a list on this blog of some things I want to do before I die:

  • Be a wife and mother. Then be the best wife and mother I can be.
  • Run a 1:30 half marathon
  • Rid myself of regret
  • Stop caring what people think about me. Totally and completely.
  • Take a cooking or baking class
  • Master the art of letting go
  • Travel to every continent (my great-grandma did this. so cool!)
  • Take voice lessons (I started this once but it didn’t last too long)
  • Become completely at peace with my body
  • Learn to play the piano again
  • Learn to control my temper. Patience!!
  • Visit every state in the U.S.

I know this list could probably go on and on but I won’t bore you. The point is, when I do die and I stand before my God and he asks for a full report I want to be able to say “I lived a full life. I did my best to use the talents you gave me and worked to improve my weaknesses. I’m proud of the life I lived and I have no regrets. Because even my failures and hiccups lead me to greater things.” And for Him to second everything I say would be more than I could ever desire.

Life is so precious and can be gone in an instant. In the midst of the hustle and bustle of work, school, training for races, taking care of the kids or dogs or fish don’t forget to LIVE. You only get one life. Create a life you’re proud of.

What do you want to do before you die?

What have you already done/are you already doing that you’re proud of?

5 thoughts on “Before I Die I Want To…

  1. Inspirational post. Thank you! I’d like to run a half-marathon before it’s too late and get back into playing piano (like yourself!). Not sure about what I’ve done that I’m proud of; maybe being the best wife, daughter, and fried I can be!

  2. I’m proud of being able to say that I don’t care what other people think about me, at all 🙂 That’s where my diva comes from. I just do my own thing and I know me 😉

    I want to be a mother.. that’s the highest on my “to do before I die” list. I’d also love to visit Australia, South America, and Europe. I also want to run a marathon 🙂

Please feel free to leave a comment

