A valuable lesson learned

This week has been a busy one. My work has slowly been giving me more hours (woohoo!) and then my best friend moved down here too, so I’ve been hanging out with her a lot. This is me and Deborah last December.

207751_10152411232710181_1988899053_n

This week I learned a valuable lesson. When you put oil in a lawnmower, be careful not to put too much oil in. Because if you do that, it clogs up the spark plugs and smokes a lot and then won’t start again and your lawn starts to look awful…again.

So now I have to figure out where the spark plugs are and clean them off so I can mow the lawn….anyone know anything about spark plugs or lawn mowers? (turns out this is common because I found a couple different Youtubes about it)

700-342331

I also have to get some things repaired in my car so that it will pass inspection so I can renew my registration. By next Saturday! So it’s going to be an expensive couple of weeks.

We had a new roommate move in the weekend and she’s super nice and adorable. We just have one more girl moving in (maybe this weekend? we’re not sure) and then all the moving in and out will be done for the foreseeable future in this house. Hopefully she’s nice too and then we’ll have a solid house. Crossing my fingers!

Today, Cori on Olive to Run wrote about how sometimes running sucks. I totally feel this way right now. I’m really tired physically and mentally from marathon training and I’m really excited for the race to be over next week. Don’t get me wrong, I am a little excited for the actual race too! But running has started to feel like a chore and that’s not what I want it to ever feel like. I’m excited to take some time off of official training for anything and just run for the fun of it. And if I don’t feel like running or I want to work out in a different way, that’s ok! I won’t feel guilty about messing up my training schedule. I’m excited to get back to running just for the love of it and the way it makes me feel. Just 9 more days, people. 9 more days.

Hope you’re all having a great Thursday!

Seriously, do you know anything about lawn mowers and spark plugs?Β 

Who was/is your favorite roommate?

What is your current running state of mind?

16 thoughts on “A valuable lesson learned

  1. You’re so lucky that your best friend moved down!!

    I hate when training plans make running a chore. I think it really says something for certain distances…when you have to train a certain way, some of the joy leaks out of the run. I’m looking forward to having my first one done so that in the future, I’ll be better at picking and choosing my training plans to avoid burnout!

  2. The spark plug will be on the side of the mower’s engine, usually. It will actually have a “cap” on it. Not sure if this will help! P.S. You may want to sand or clean the metal tooth that’s on one end–this is where the “spark” is created.

  3. I’ve never mowed the lawn ever in my life. My goal is to never mow the lawn ever. Not sorry about it. But I am sorry that I can’t help you! I live by myself, so I’m my favorite roomie πŸ˜‰ I loved the girl I lived with my senior year and the girls who I basically lived with Junior and Senior year. I miss them terribly! My current running state of mind is that I love it still πŸ™‚ We’ll see how long that lasts.

  4. I’m not training for anything and truly loving my runs. I still have a few crappy ones now and then but the majority are just fun πŸ™‚

  5. TOTALLY get this!! The last 2 weeks or so before the marine corps marathon I was so sick or running and training and wanted to just get the thing OVER with!!! I was afraid that I wouldn’t even be “excited” for it because I was just so ready to be done… but the moment i arrived in DC and woke up race morning… all that left me and I was SO INCREDIBLE PUMPED AND IN LOVE WITH THE ACT OF RUNNING!!
    I know it will be the same for you! I KNOW it! So don’t stress or worry over your emotions right now! You are exactly where you need to be and I can’t wait for you to run it!! ahhhh seriously can you hear my excitement!?!?!?!?! AHHH!! πŸ™‚

  6. I’m in the middle of a training plan for my next half marathon and I’m feeling the exact same way right now – running feels like a chore and I want nothing to do with it! The fact that I “have to” do a certain mileage or type of run makes it completely uninteresting. Any advice you have to get rid of that feeling?! It’s hard to know whether I should keep pushing myself through it or just take a break…

  7. I am the last person you want to ask about lawnmowers. My hubby and I have gone through 2 lawnmowers in less than a 2 yr period. I don’t know what we to them. We even took one to get it fixed and that cost almost as much as what we originally paid for it! So, end result: hired a gardener!

Please feel free to leave a comment

