Weekend Recap

First of all, on my way to work on Friday, I was shot at and hit by a paint ball. I was super unhappy about it. I even reported it to the police. That’s just not safe. Those things could really do some damage. Why are people so stupid sometimes?

photo-81

This weekend I ran my last long run marathon training run. Why? Because THIS SATURDAY is my race! Holy crap. Where has the time gone?! It was a nice 10 miler. The day before I decided to do whatever I wanted, so I ran 4 miles. I felt really good starting off and ended up averaging a 8:38 min/mile pace. I haven’t run that fast since I started training for this thing. I felt great! I’m hoping that with the tapering and some light running this week, I can have nice, fresh legs for the race! Which, if you didn’t know, is 5 DAYS AWAY! Less than that if you’re reading this after 6:40 am MST!

Saturday night I got to go to a girls night out function sponsored by my dad’s work. I went with my mom, some aunts and my cousin. We had a blast! There were booths there promoting girly things, free food (chocolate, cookies, sandwiches, ice cream, etc) and we even got free massages! One of my aunts also got Tarot cards read, but I don’t know how much I believe that stuff. Still fun though!!

photo-83

The best part of the whole night though was when Matt Nathanson performed!!! If you’re thinking to yourself, I don’t know who that is, yes you do. You’ll most likely recognize his song “Come on Get Higher”. He has a new album that just came out and the couple of songs he played from it where so good! I need to get that album!

photo-82

He was super chill and a great entertainer. He’s coming back to the area in October and I’m so excited to go to his concert!

Sunday, we went down to my grandparents’ to celebrate my grandpa’s and uncle’s birthdays coming up today (Happy birthday, Uncle Biz!) and on the 11th. I didn’t get a lot of pictures because I was so busy eating all the amazing food. Seriously I was so full but I just wanted to keep eating! So good! Luckily, I did remember my blogging duties long enough to take this picture of one of the birthday cakes. It was a coconut, pineapple cake and it was pretty much one of the best cakes I have ever had, ever! I got to bring a piece home with me and I’m so happy about it.

photo-85

Overall, it was a great weekend! I’m sure this next week will fly by!

How was your weekend?

Favorite type of cake??

Anyone else racing this upcoming weekend?

14 thoughts on “Weekend Recap

  1. I’m sorry to hear about the paint ball! I can’t even imagine…

    Good luck on your race this weekend! Do you have any info on tapering? I have a couple months before my first race, but at this point, I’m the moron that would go and do something like sprints the night before the race. (Not really, but you get the idea) πŸ™‚ Or if you can point me in the right direction of some helpful reads that give info like that, I’d really appreciate it!

  2. I can’t believe your race is this weekend!!! OMG I can’t wait for the report. You’re going to kick butt!!! And then I can live vicariously through your awesome experience and it’ll motivate me for mine in Nov!

    Stupid kids and their paintball guns…seriously, you’re lucky it didn’t hit the windshield. I’m glad you reported it.

  3. AHHHH 4 DAYS!!!!!!!!!
    I am getting so so excited for youuu!!
    Is it the best when a run feels so easy and comfortable and good??
    Fun ladies night πŸ™‚
    And Math Nathanson is the best!!! he is a big deal in the midwest!!

Please feel free to leave a comment

