50 Down, Eternity to Go

As I mentioned in my last post, this weekend I got to go to my maternal grandparents’ 50th wedding anniversary celebration! What an amazing accomplishment, especially in today’s society! So be warned, this post will be picture overload, cause I kinda like my family.

We arrived and did we what we do best…eat.

IMG_3160

I found these in my grandma’s kitchen. I made them for her when I was probably somewhere between 7-9 years old. She says they’re her favorite ones.

IMG_3163

We then went and helped decorate the room for the family only luncheon (there was later an open house where friends came to congratulate them and visit). My aunt was the mastermind behind the decorations and I thought it was so cute! Pinterest worthy!

IMG_3168

The papers on the trees had notes and congratulations that we wrote on them.

IMG_3169

IMG_3170

IMG_3172

My grandma always Β jokes that we’re like the family in My Big Fat Greek Wedding, so we got bundt cakes and put flowers in the middle. She thought it was hilarious!

IMG_3174

It was fun to see cousins and there was a lot of silliness that went on. Man cards may be put on suspension πŸ˜‰

IMG_3177

IMG_3180

IMG_3205

My uncle put together a movie/slideshow of pictures from their life together. It was awesome to see some of the older pictures of my grandparents and my mom and her siblings, growing up. Then my grandparents and each of their children took some time to say a few words. Many tears were shed! Finally we had them cut the cake and feed it to each other. It was super cute.

IMG_3189

My grandpa is from Utah and my grandma is from Argentina. They met when my grandpa was down there for church service and wrote letters to each other for two years. They married, moved to the US for a short time and then moved to Argentina for a while. My mom and 4 of her siblings were born there. When my mom was 12 they moved back to the US and raised their family of 6 kids in Idaho, where they owned a local pizzeria. That pizzeria was a big part of my childhood!

My grandma gave me some marital advice this weekend that she asked me to pass on to my cousins (since I’m the oldest cousin) and I thought I’d share it with all of you. She said to never, ever use negative language toward each other, such as calling each other names or swearing at each other. She said that made all the difference in their relationship and would help us in each of our future marriages. I love it!

Finally, here is a collage my sister put on Instagram of my grandparents at the luncheon and then them on their wedding day. So sweet.

IMG_3210

I’m so grateful for my grandparents and the wonderful example they’ve always set for their children and grandchildren. Happy 50th Abuelita and Grandpa!

If you’re married, when is your anniversary?

Have you been to anyone’s 50th anniversary?

What’s the best piece of marriage advice you’ve received?

16 thoughts on “50 Down, Eternity to Go

  1. So amazing! The bundt cakes are such a lovely touch! Best wishes to them!

    Mr PugRunner and I will be married 7 years on 11/4.
    I attended my grandparents’ 50the wedding anniversary about 10 years ago.
    The best marriage advice I’ve ever received is “don’t go to bed angry with each other.”

  2. FURTHER SIGNS that we were meant to be best friends— I made my parents a million of those pot holders when I was 7 or 8 and they STILL USE THEM and swear that it is not because I made them and being all sentimental… but they say they seriously are the BEST ONES we own!! hahah

    Seriously we are two peas in a pod girl!

    Oh and best piece of marriage advice is from my dad. He always said, “Marry the Nerds. They make the best husbands.” I agree with him completely… and he was/is a total nerd πŸ™‚

    • Stop it!!! Seriously?! That’s soo awesome! Yes my grandma keeps them because they work so well. Who knew?! haha We really are. I’m so glad we’re friends πŸ™‚
      haha I love that! Nerds are the best. I should know, I am one.

  3. I have to agree with Andrea on the nerd advice. Tio Paul told me once, “You always date the bad boys. But you should marry a dork.” And I DID! And he’s the BEST!
    But the absolute best advice ever is “If you have to fight, fight naked.” We’ve never tried that, mostly because we don’t really fight, but if we did, I think it would be funny because nakeds are funny.

Please feel free to leave a comment

