I’m going to be published

My company sends out a newsletter every month that they Health Coaches write articles for. Since I’m not technically a full on coach, I asked if I could write one too and they said yes! I was so excited because I love writing. Obvi. Or else I wouldn’t have a blog.

I thought I would give you guys a sneak peak and share it with you today. I don’t know what title was chosen for it, because I didn’t have a good one. I think it was something like “Changing Seasons Means Changing Workouts” or something dumb like that. Titles are not my strong point, as you may have noticed.

****

It’s that time of year again! The leaves are changing colors, football season has started and the air has a distinct crispness to it that can only mean one thing: fall has arrived. For those of us who don’t live in moderate climates, this also means the availability of our favorite outdoor summer activities is coming to a close. Pools are closing up, morning and evening walks are getting chillier, and soon snow will cover many parts of the country, sending us all indoors.

So how are we going to keep up our activity levels and not lose the progress we’ve made over the summer? Here are a few suggestions:

  • First of all, keep up your summer outdoor activities as long as possible. There is still plenty we can do outside as fall is sneaking in, so don’t close the door on summer activities just yet. Continue going for walks, hikes, bike rides or whatever activity you’ve become fond of. By bundling up, you can still enjoy the fresh air for a little while longer.

  • Join a gym or recreation center. The great thing about these places is you can do many of your favorite activities inside! Biking, treadmills, ellipticals, indoor pools and even group exercise classes are great ways to stay up on your physical activity goals.

  • Discover winter sports. As the weather gets cold and blustery, we also receive the ability to participate in so many sports unavailable the rest of the year. Skiing, snowboarding, cross-country skiing, snowshoeing and sledding are all fun, invigorating activities that are sure to work up a sweat!

  • Find workout DVDs to do at home. These can be purchased or are available for checkout at public libraries. A workout DVD can make fitting in your daily exercise very convenient, as you can do them right in your own living room! There’s a huge variety of activities offered, with a wide range of ability levels. Find a DVD that you enjoy and you may even discover a workout you can continue to do year round, regardless of the weather!

  • Get a workout buddy. This goes for any time of the year, but especially when the weather gets cooler and motivation may decrease, having a friend to help you along could make all the difference in the world. It not only holds each person accountable but also makes exercise that much more enjoyable!

The changing of the seasons doesn’t mean we have to regress in our exercise habits. We can still find fun, challenging, and effective ways to get some physical activity and keep us on track. With a little planning, workouts and healthy lifestyles can thrive even in the coldest of weather. Good luck!

****

I did get to my work’s yoga class yesterday, put on by one of the health coaches who is also a yoga instructor (ever one else there has awesome second jobs…then there’s me haha). It was sooo great! I loved it. It was exactly the workout I needed yesterday. My body was so stiff before and it helped everything loosen up and relax but get an awesome workout at the same time. My legs were shaking during some of the poses. That means I was working super hard 😉

Today I get to see two of my old college roommates and best friends! I can’t wait!!

P.S. I feel way old saying the phrase “old college roommates” like it was forever ago haha!

And here’s a picture of the GORGEOUS flowers my coworker’s husband sent her for their anniversary. Because I feel weird not having any pictures in this post. Plus you should all get to see how pretty these are.

photo-99

What are you up to this fine Saturday?

What are your tips for staying in shape during the winter months? (unless you’re lucky enough to live somewhere where the weather is nice all year round)

7 thoughts on “I’m going to be published

  1. Hey! I have another suggestion for you. (and I mean you in particular, sorry everybody else…) When the weather gets cold, take a road trip and visit one of your friends that lives where the weather is beautiful! (hint hint) You should do another race down here. 🙂

  2. Congrats on your first published article! I am one of the lucky ones that lives where I can be outside pretty much all year round (Southern California). We are very spoiled out here. I don’t know what I would do if it snowed out here!

  3. bahhh congrats!! loved the article you wrote! Perfect advice 🙂
    Also, i love that you posted pictures of someone ELSES flowers that they got… haha totally something I would do ((since lets be honest.. I am not going to get any flowers any time soon. Unless from my dad. Sometimes he does that haha))

Please feel free to leave a comment

