Pumpkin is super nutritious

Last night I went to another yoga class! I’m just becoming a regular little yogi! Unfortunately, I’ll be missing yoga at work today but it’s so that I can go to lunch with my family (including siblings who are at college!!) so I think that’s a good reason 🙂

After yoga I thought, “You know what we need? Pumpkin froyo” (it’s only going to be around for so long!). My friends Melissa and Jessica agreed with me, so we had a very delicious (though counterproductive) post-yoga treat. Yum!! Also, I need to not slouch in pictures while also sideways. Not so flattering.

photo-13

Speaking of pumpkin, I was researching at work the other day and pumpkin actually has soo many health benefits! In case you need more incentive to make lots of different pumpkin recipes, here are some of those benefits to entice you:

image

  • High in Vitamin A (246% of RDA!)
  • 1 cup serving = only 49 calories
  • High in phytosterols – reduce LDL
  • Contains beto-carotene
  • High in potassium
  • High in Vitamin C
  • No saturated fats or cholesterol
  • High in fiber
  • Good source of B-Complex vitamins
  • Also rich in copper, calcium and phosporus

source 1 source 2

Ok when I was reading all these I thought “No way pumpkin! You’re making all this up to sound cool”. But it’s all true! Pumpkin is very good for you! So eat up, people!!

Finally, for all the UTAH PEOPLE out there, my friend Stephanie was signed up for the Provo Halloween Half Marathon next weekend but unfortunately now has a funeral she’s attending that same day. If anyone would like her spot, she is selling her registration discounted. Leave your email in the comments and I’ll get it to her. I hear this is a super fun one! I want to do it next year.

Happy Friday everyone!!

Any Friday night plans? stay home and lounge! I’ve been going going going all week!

Favorite pumpkin dish/food/treat??

Anyone racing soon?

 

12 thoughts on “Pumpkin is super nutritious

  1. Just so you know… I wrote Pumpkin Froyo on my to-do list!
    We have pumpkin pancakes every year on Halloween. When I lived near family it was a tradition for everyone to come to my house for pancakes before heading out to trick-or-treat. Sadly, we are in AZ. Happily, my kids still demand pumpkin pancakes! It’s a tradition. 🙂
    I race next weekend! Second marathon!

    • Good!! It needs to be on everyone’s list! haha
      oh yum! I love pumpkin pancakes, which is saying a lot because I’m not a big pancake fan. That’s a great tradition!
      Yay! You’re so awesome!!

Please feel free to leave a comment

