#5 coming right up!

Yesterday I got to go with my mom to meet my siblings for lunch. Both of them are at school at Utah State (about 1.5 hours away) so we met half way. It was really fun to see them and I had a delicious pineapple and ham calzone. Love me a good calzone!

Image-2

So remember how yesterday I asked if anyone wanted to take my friend’s registration for the Provo Halloween Half next Saturday? Well, I was considering taking it but wasn’t totally convinced I could do it so I wanted to give someone else the chance in case they really wanted to do it. I texted Steph when I got off of work and nobody had taken it yet, so I decided to do it. I’m running a half marathon one week from today. This is only the 3rd craziest running thing I’ve done (the first is the marathon of course and the second is training for a half in 2 weeks). But those crazy things have also caused and been caused by some of the best things that have happened to me this year. Β Half #5 coming right up!

This means I need to get running, so I headed out for a run after work. I only intended to do 3 miles but ended up doing 4. The first couple of miles felt a little difficult (it’s always hard to get back into it!) but the second half of the run felt amazing! Don’t get me wrong, it was a slow run. But I got progressively faster so that was nice. At least I have a week to get back into my running flow. I just have to accept that this race is going to be fun and not for a PR or anything like that. I’ll try to take it easy (really hard for me on race day. my competitive edge gets the best of me).

The view didn’t hurt either. I used this as an opportunity to explore my new neighborhood and I love this place.

photo-14 photo-15

Next time I’ll have to take some pictures of the houses. I feel like I live in a neighborhood that should be in a snow globe. It’s that cute.

Busy, busy Saturday ahead of me! I’ll tell you all about it tomorrow. πŸ™‚

What are you up to today?

How was your last run?

Anyone else doing a Halloween race??Β 

10 thoughts on “#5 coming right up!

  1. You’ll love the Halloween Half. It’s a beautiful course this time of year, and the combination of canyon and parkway is fun to run. I’m doing the Haunted Half, just three weeks after St George, so it may be more of a walk-run. πŸ™‚

  2. You’re going to love your run, I can tell! πŸ™‚
    Today’s run felt fantastic. It was my last “long run” of training. Though I kept telling myself to run it at a long run pace I just felt like going faster. Maybe it was because I knew I was going to miss the beginning of Gabe’s soccer game?

Please feel free to leave a comment

