Well, this is embarrassing…

Yesterday I tell you I’m running a half marathon in one week and then today I’m telling you I don’t know if I’ll be able to. My run on Friday night was great but then as the evening wore one I started to experience pain in my left arch. I tried to roll it out and thought it would go away. Saturday I got up and it was still hurting and it continued to hurt all day long, with the pain getting progressively a little bit worse.

People, I think I have plantar fasciitis. I have all the signs, my shoes are crap (ordering new ones stat!!) and my friend in PA school (she’s basically almost like a doctor you guys) said so. So I went to a running store and bought this lovely plantar fasciitis sleeve.

photo-16

I didn’t even know these existed but I’m PRAYING it will help me to feel better and let me make it through this week. I really don’t want to have to drop out of the race. I’m torn between just finding someone to take my place or sucking it up and running anyway. I don’t want to miss this race but I also don’t want to make it worse. I don’t know where to draw the line. What do I do, fellow runners??

Yesterday I got up bright and early to go with a group from my church to the Utah Food Bank. We got to pack up boxes of food for families to pick up. It was a good time and it’s nice to do a little service!

photo-18

I think an elementary class was asked to decorate the boxes (I vaguely remember doing the same thing) and some of the drawings were pretty good! Also there seemed to be a Sponge Bob theme for a while, so it must be what all the cool kids are into these days. I was never much into Sponge Bob, but to each his own!
photo-17

I also had lunch with a couple of friends, went shopping (I know…ME! It was crazy) and bought some cute wedges and also some running gear. Speaking of, I need your opinions please. I am buying the Asics Cumulus 15 VERY soon and I need your votes on which color I should get. I feel like the purple ones I would be more likely to get normally, so that draws me to the blue ones…but then the second ones are pretty too. I need your help!

Screen Shot 2013-10-19 at 11.17.46 PM Screen Shot 2013-10-19 at 11.18.01 PM

Today is the day of rest and I intend for it to be just that! Maybe I’ll spend some time on the hammock in the backyard since the weather has been beautiful and it won’t stay this nice for long.

Everyone have a wonderful Sunday!

Anyone had plantar fasciitis before?? Any advice? Other than R.I.C.E. I’ve got that down.

Seriously, which shoes should I get?

What shoes are you currently running on?

16 thoughts on “Well, this is embarrassing…

  1. So sorry to hear about your foot pain! Is sure sounds like plantar fasciitis. I know some people have it chronically and some just get it once or twice. I’m one of those once or twice people. Here is what I learned from a PT. Freeze a water bottle. Then roll your foot on it on the floor. Do it for a while, about 10 minutes. I mean consciously roll it back and forth using your foot muscles. Do the same with a small ball, like a tennis ball or golf ball and just roll that ball around. Some gentle massage will help. Then ice and elevate like you have been doing.

    As for sneakers, get fitted! Go to a running store and have a professional check your gait and form. Call ahead and ask if they do treadmill tests because you want someone there who knows what they are doing. This is so important! And bring your old shoes with you! They can tell so much by looking at your old shoes!

    You’ll want to get a few miles on your new shoes before you run your race. So try to get out there once the pain subsides. I’m sure it will within a week if you keep rolling it.

    Let us know how it goes!!

  2. Here’s to hoping that the foot issues are resolved before race day. If not, then it’ll still be ok, but it’d be obviously better if it disappears! And I think that the blue shoes are cute!!

  3. Oh no!! Sorry to hear about your current running status! Hope you recovery quickly πŸ™‚
    I choose the purple shoes, but I LOVE PURPLE so I am a little bias. I am currently running in Brooks Ghost6 but I think today im going to my local running store to get some new kicks!

  4. So sorry about your foot! I was struggling with it over the summer, but fortunately it didn’t get too bad. I like both shoes, although I’m not a huge fluorescent orange fan so I’d go with the second pair! Good luck!

  5. I roll my feet with a soup can or tennis ball and got some arch support for my non-running, daily-wear work shoes. That helped. Aeorsoles are actually my go-to work shoes now! So comfy and have helped my feet.

    I love the blue…Lately I’ve been all about COLOR in running shoes!!

  6. Plantar faciatis is SUCH a pain! I really don’t have good advice… it can last foreverrrrr. 😦 wow andrea, that was super unhelpful– bahh sorry girl!! I will think of some secretly AWESOME remedy and share it with you!

    I like the blue/orange shoes!!!! they look fast…. and we all know color definitely determines speed. (yes that is a fact) πŸ˜‰

  7. I love both shoes… but I’d lean toward the blue ones.
    Right now I’m running in Brooks Ghost shoes. Mens. That’s why I gravitate toward the colorful girly shoes! I never get to wear them!
    Take care of that foot! Your long-term health is much more important than a short-term race, right?

Please feel free to leave a comment

