Back to Running

Yesterday, I ran! I ran 3 miles and my foot only hurt a teeny bit afterward. Hooray! It feels so good to be able to run again, even if I have to take it easy. I have a coworker who has an injury right now and can’t even sit, let alone run, so I’m so grateful!

I figure if I take it easy and don’t run like Phoebe we should be ok….even though it does look fun…

photo-30

I already have my next half picked out and I’m going for a PR. My goal is 1:45. I think I’ll start officially training next month. I want to make sure my foot is fully healed. Stay tuned!

One of my favorite parts of driving home from the gym is this view! Holy cow! I just love the mountains so much. One of the things I missed most when I lived in Texas (besides extended family, friends and good tasting water) was the mountains. They’re gorgeous and just make me feel so safe.

photo-31

Word on the street is that some of the ski resorts are opening up this weekend. Crazy!! Can’t believe it’s already that time of year. My dad is super excited about it. He’s been doing snow dances for months. You think I’m kidding.

Tonight my cousin is flying in from California and I’m taking her to my alma mater for the weekend to try to recruit her to the Aggie family. It’s going to be a blast and I’m so excited! Plus the weather is supposed to be amazing this weekend…into the 60s! In November! In Logan, UT!!! That’s insane but I’m convinced the gods are looking down on us and want this to be the perfect weekend for my cousin.

Utah_State_University_freecomputerdesktopwallpaper_1440

Um, seriously. Just look at that ^…who wouldn’t want to go to school there?!

This weekend will include, but not be limited to:

  • Aggie Ice Cream
  • Official Campus Tour by university reps
  • Unofficial, customized campus tour by yours truly as I fill in the gaps and give her the dirt on anything she wants to know. I worked as a university representative myself for 6 years, in different positions. And by dirt, of course I mean amazing, wonderful information.
  • Meeting with an academic advisor. My cousin is super brilliant, so this is a must!
  • First Aggie Basketball game of the season!!! I wish I could fully convey the amazing-ness that is Aggie Basketball.
  • Cleaning the sink at Angie’s (oh…you just wait for the post that includes this!! It’s much cooler than it sounds)
  • Cheese Curds
  • Aggie swag
  • Food at all the local eats. My cousin will NOT be going hungry this weekend, that’s for sure!
  • Tour of Cache Valley

and much more πŸ™‚ Can’t give it all away! Now to make it through today…days just seem to go so much slower when there’s something so fun to look forward to!

How have your runs been going?

What do you love most about where you live?

What are you looking forward to this weekend?

22 thoughts on “Back to Running

  1. First: the way Phoebe runs is awesome. I’ve tried it and it really does make running more fun. (:

    I have already registered for 2 half marathons next year and entered a lottery for a 3rd. And I don’t think I am done. It is an expensive hobby, isn’t it?

    I haven’t run in almost a week. I woke up with a sore back on Saturday, attempted to run in spite of this fact, and had to call it quits 3 miles in (I had planned on 7). So I am taking the week off to let it heal. But it sucks especially when the weather is so gorgeous!

    And in Logan, go to that bread place near Hastings (totally forgot the name) and get sandwiches. SO GOOD. And maybe head up to Pepperidge Farm to get discounted awesomely great treats? I haven’t spent much time in Logan since I graduated from USU, but maybe this is a sign I need to go back.

    • Yesiree, running is a very expensive hobby. But sooo worth it!

      Oh no!! I hope your back gets better soon!

      Yes, Old Grist Mill! They do have great sandwiches. And Pepperidge Farm is a great idea!! We’ll totally have to go there if we have time. And yes, you totally need to go back πŸ™‚

  2. Glad you are beginning to heal. Not being able to run is rough.

    That view is gorgeous. I have some mountains in my view but they are usually covered with smog. Ugh. I do love being within half an hour to an hour of just about anything I want, beach, mountains you name it.

    I am looking forward to a four day weekend, a concert and a good bike ride. πŸ™‚ Have a great weekend.

  3. HAHAHA that is one of my favorite episodes! “They give you strange looks but you’re just running by so fast you don’t even see them!” or something like that. Clearly I need to rewatch it! That’s the one where Ross leaves the whitener on his teeth for too long too, isn’t it? Love! So glad you’re getting back into running without pain! And, are you trying to recruit me to come to Utah because holy crap those mountains are BEAUTIFUL!

  4. I just love Phoebe’s running. Too funny!!

    That picture is amazing. It seems fake to me (coming from super flat West Michigan) to see a mountain in someone’s normal, everyday picture. I feel like I would drive off the road or something ridiculous like that if that was my everyday commute! Talk about breathtaking.

  5. I *love* that clip of Friends when Phoebe runs like crazy πŸ™‚ There’s actually a man at the gym we go to who runs around the track in a very similar way – he looks kind of silly but he moves fast and probably burns a lot of extra calories! My husband and I refer to him as “the Phoebe runner” πŸ™‚

Please feel free to leave a comment

