the snow changed my plans

Last night my church had a Christmas party at a nice building down town. I’ve been looking forward to it for a couple of weeks but my night didn’t go as planned. Yesterday it snowed a crazy amount. It was the first big snow storm of the season and because of it the roads were terrible, traffic was slow and my normal 20 min max commute home turned into a 40 minute commute. Don’t get me wrong, I REALLY appreciate that everyone was being safe and smart driving slower in the conditions. But by the time I got home and then my roommates about 10 minutes later, the party was half way over and it would have taken us a good 45 minutes to get to it with the roads the way that they were. I was sad and a little disappointed.

unnamed-10

first big car scraping of winter 2013-2014

So we girls did what we do best. We ordered some pizza (hey just because we weren’t going out in that weather doesn’t mean we didn’t need food!), made some breadsticks and watched “What Happens in Vegas”. It was definitely a fun time and a great second choice of how my evening could have gone. It was actually really nice to stay in and have the fireplace going and good food and good friends around.

vegas'

One other blessing from having to stay in last night was that I got to do my laundry (half of which is currently sitting next to me waiting to be folded.) I don’t know about you, but I do not enjoy doing laundry. However, I don’t know what I would have done if I couldn’t have done at least one load last night because the situation was getting kind of dire if you know what I mean…TMI?

Have I told you about how lately I’m obsessed with old-fashion oats with brown sugar and fruit these days? My main obsession is to put blueberries in it but I used them up two days ago so I had to put in a banana yesterday and today. Still good but not the same.

unnamed-11

I have to admit, my #Elf4Health challenges have become more challenging for me. The 100 burpees on Sunday didn’t get completed and when I tried to finish them up in my circuit the next day, it still didn’t happen. I’ll finish them this week though! Lame, I know and totally not what the challenge is all about but that’s where I’m at. I still want to do everything, I just may not complete it as it was intended.

Today’s challenge is not to wear any make up and I’m sorry but I just can’t do that. It’s not that I’m vain or am one of those girls that HAS to have make up on at all times. It’s that I already look 19 all on my own, so without make up, it would be even worse and it would look un professional and as if I didn’t get ready for work. I just can’t do that. Maybe what I can do is take it off when I get home from work. I do have a thing to go to tonight so I would still go out in public without make up. Does that count? Kind of?

One of the challenges was to write a hand written note and while I did it in a small way, I’d love to set aside time in the next month to write more notes and mail them out. I’m going to put that out into the universe as a goal of mine before the end of the year. Let’s set more specifics: I will mail 5 hand written notes to family/friends by December 31, 2013.

Wow can you say random post? One more thing before I’m done. I saw this sitting on my kitchen counter and really wished it was mine. Then my roommate brought it in to me and it turns out her boy had extras at his work and thought to bring one back for me! Yay for friends who understand my love of running and even fuel it. Can’t wait to read this cover to cover!

unnamed-12

Alright, that’s all you get today for a random Wednesday post. Stay classy, folks.

Tell me 3 random things about your day/week/life

8 thoughts on “the snow changed my plans

  1. I hate doing laundry, too! I laughed when I read that you had clothes sitting next to you as you were blogging because I have a pile of clean clothes next to me at this very moment. Haha!

    I’m sorry you are having trouble with some of the Elf4Health Challenges! I agree, the 100 burpees were NOT fun. And I’m stressing out because I have to teach a fitness class today without makeup. The members of the class are around 70-80 years old, and they always comment on how red my face looks when I don’t have foundation on. I am not looking forward to all those comments today. I think that, if you are going out tonight w/o make up, that still counts! But, it’s all about doing what is best for you! Hang in there!

  2. I love doing laundry!! Seriously, I’m kind of a weirdo but I don’t mind doing laundry at all. I hate cleaning the bathroom. That’s the only chore I really hate. When we’re roommates I’ll do the laundry, you clean the bathroom? šŸ˜‰

Please feel free to leave a comment

