A Treat for You and Orange Socks

My roommate, Torie, that I lived with for two years used to make this delicious concoction called “Cereal Candy” and it was always my favorite when she would make it. Well, she posted the recipe on her work’s blog, so I decided to make it and then share it with all of you! No, not the healthiest (or even close to it) but it’s amazing and maybe you can take it to a holiday party so that you don’t eat it all yourself 😉

unnamed-15

unnamed-16

I’ve decided that cereal candy is an art. An art that I have yet to master. It turned out good but not as great as T made it. I also had a mishap with the butterscotch hitting a certain point in the melting process where it actually started to get harder rather than more melty. Not really sure how to undo that. If you know, please tell me so I know for the future.

unnamed-17

My roommates, however, don’t seem to have noticed and everyone is happily munching away on the cereal candy. That’s a win in my book! Guess I’ll have to make it again so I can really get it down right! haha

This may seem like a weird time to bring up exercise (I mean, if you think about it, I need to talk about exercise to balance out the treats. That’s how it works, right?) but I went to my second barre class yesterday and it kicked my butt yet again. I’m already sore, so I can’t imagine what the next couple of days will feel like.

I did spend a good part of the class thinking about how much this will help my running (running nerd alert!) and trying to figure out how much I can afford to spend on barre classes. It’s one of the best work outs ever and it’s probably the most challenging thing I’ve ever done physically, second only to training for and running the marathon. Yeah, it works me that hard. Maybe not everyone else, but definitely for me! Plus now I’ve invested in my own pair of barre socks (this was the only color they had left in my size) so I will for sure need to show this workout some commitment.

unnamed-18

Hope you’re all having a lovely weekend. We’re experiencing a LOT of snow over here in the Rocky Mountains. Perfect excuse for hot chocolate and sweaters! Have a great Sunday!

What’s your favorite holiday treat?

Current workout obsession?

Do you like the snow?

9 thoughts on “A Treat for You and Orange Socks

  1. For us locals, where do you go for a barre class? Is it a gym class or a dance studio? I would love to try something like that. You can email me if you don’t want to post specifics. Thanks!

  2. I’m pretty sure when it gets hard and stops melting it’s started burning. Did it start to get a little crumbly? Once it’s burned, there’s no remedy. Just gotta throw it out and start again 🙂 Also I hashtag love you. And I hashtag miss you.

Please feel free to leave a comment

