Western Girl Through and Through

Just a quick hello before I have to run off and get ready for the festivities! I still need to wrap my gifts for my family and go rent skis for tomorrow annual Family Christmas Ski Day. The slopes are completely empty on Christmas morning and Santa is always there handing out candy canes. Plus I have to prove to my dad that even though I haven’t skied since last Christmas, I’ve still got it 😉

little ski

Oh Christmases of old…apparently I was NOT happy to be there that day haha!

I took this quiz by the New York Times on “How Y’all, Youse and You Guys Talk”. So fun!! I’m speak most like people from  Salt Lake City, UT (shocker..since that’s where I’ve lived the majority of my life), and Stockton and Modesto, CA. I’m a western girl through and through!

Screen Shot 2013-12-24 at 9.45.23 AM

Sorry to all you east coast and southerners. I may not know what the heck you’re talking about, but we can still be friends! Seriously though, some of the phrases the quiz asked me about I had never heard of in my life. I love things like this!

I ran 4.5 miles this morning and it felt great, though I did feel a little out of shape. But then my left arch hurt so badly afterward! I thought I had given my foot enough time to heal in September but ever since my marathon, whenever I run my foot hurts and today was worse than usual. I’m getting worried. What do you guys think?

Remember how I told you Christmas Eve is my favorite?! And now it’s here! Can’t wait for new PJs tonight (I keep calling them jammies and feel like I’m 5, so I’m trying to switch to PJs) and reading the Christmas story from the Bible. It really is the most wonderful time of the year and I love that it’s a time when the spirit of Christ is felt all around.

I’ll try to post a picture from the slopes, but in case I don’t have reception, have a very Merry Christmas Eve and Christmas Day!

What are you family traditions for Christmas Eve/Day?

Take the quiz! What cities are you most similar to??

PJs, jammies, pajamas?? What do you call them?!

7 thoughts on “Western Girl Through and Through

  1. I took that quiz too. =) I’m a Linguistics major so it wasn’t really news to me but it was funny to read it without the jargon. I’m from Arkansas but I identified more with the Midwest markers rather than Southern. You should also check out http://www.popvssoda.com That’s fun to think about as well! Proud user of “soda” here!

  2. I got two cities North of Chicago…and I grew up South of Chicago! But it was still pretty red right around Chicago 😉

    I’m putting my Christmas jammies on now to head to my uncle’s house for our Christmas Eve celebrations. Can’t wait! Didn’t run this morning because it was 1 degree out and this FL girl can’t handle that…even though I’ve been running outside in the freezing Chicago weather the last week or so. Cannot wait to get back to warm FL. Merry Christmas!!

Please feel free to leave a comment

