Top Basic Health Mistakes

I’ve been a health coach for a couple of months now (I know, I know. I’m basically an expert at this point! *sarcasm!!) but there are a few similarities that I have noticed among my participants that I wanted to share with you. I am going to call them “basic health mistakes”. (bet the title of the post didn’t give that away)

{1} Water Intake is Low

Drink_More_Water_by_Denoyelle

Increasing water intake is by far one of the most common goals I help my participants to set. I wrote about proper hydration in this post but here are some of the facts I listed:

  • Up to 60% of our body is made of water
  • 70% of the brain is composed of water
  • 90% of the lungs are composed of water
  • Lean muscle tissue (and the brain) are 75% water by weight
  • Body fat is 10% water
  • Bone is 22% water
  • Around 83% of our blood is water
  • Women have less water than men (as a percentage)

Being dehydrated puts you at a disadvantage on so many levels, but when it gets down to it, your body just needs the water to function properly! Drink at least 64 oz a day. Yes, if this is a new habit, you’ll be taking a bathroom break more often than you’re used to. But as you continue to drink it regularly, your body will adjust and that urge will go back to normal. This is also something I have to reassure my participants about. πŸ™‚

{2} Counting juice, milk, tea, etc as your water intake

polls_no_20milk_0952_377702_answer_4_xlarge

This ties in with the first mistake, but apparently this needs clarification. When they say drink 64 oz of water….they mean WATER. Not just fluids. You’re not sick. (I don’t know, maybe you are!) But with these other drinks you’re taking in more than just water aka more calories/sugar/etc. They can get you. So go easy on the non-water drinks and don’t even try to count them toward that magic 64 oz!

{3} Counting physical activity done at work or chores around the house as exercise

Clean-House

I think this is something we’re all guilty of doing. “I cleaned the bathroom today and vacuumed the stairs. That was hard work! Guess I’m done for today” False! The work you do normally from day-to-day (in my humble opinion) should not count toward the recommended 150 minutes of moderate aerobic exercise that you should be getting each week in order to maintain a health weight (or more if you’re trying to lose weight). Your body gets used to it and if you want to progress, if you want to see change, you’re going to need to do more. That’s just the way it goes.

{4} Snacking when bored or emotional

girl-with-chips-300x198

Ladies, don’t even try to tell me you’ve never been guilty of this because I will shout B.S.! This happens sometimes. But when it’s a regular occurrence, that’s when it’s an issue. Mindless snacking on entire bags of chips or boxes of cookies while watching TV? Downing a carton of ice cream when you’re feeling down and blue? Eating 3, 4, 5 brownies because dang it, it’s just the way you feel? Dangerous! Think of the calories!! Think of the miles and miles you’ll have to run to work that off! Think of all the hard work you’ve already put in through exercise that you just washed away with a handful of chocolate. The sad thing is that you can eat back any workout faster than is comfortable to think about. I love treats, don’t get me wrong! Just be careful and evaluate why you’re eating them, especially if it’s become a habit. Then find a healthy way to replace it (see #1).

{5} Blaming their busy schedule on why they can’t exercise/eat healthy

“I’m a very busy person” Yeah, get in a line, buddy. Newsflash: WE’RE ALL BUSY! I have yet to meet a person who says to me “You know, I’m just not very busy! I have time for so many things! Good thing I use all that spare time to make deliciously healthy meals and exercise for a couple of hours a day”. No. This is about prioritizing and developing good time management skills. If it’s important to you, then you’ll make time for it, plain and simple. I’ll leave you with these words:

As-many-hours-as-beyonce

Again, these are just examples I have noticed in working with my participants. I believe that true health is found in moderation and doing right most of the time and leaving room to enjoy some treats. Life is definitely meant to be enjoyed!

Anything else you would add to the list?

What do you do in your own life to counter any of these habits?

21 thoughts on “Top Basic Health Mistakes

  1. Love the last beyonce quote! I hear ‘I don’t have time’ constantly from coworkers and its so frustrating. Everyone makes time for what’s important to them and health should be close to the top of that list.

  2. Hi I am currently studying to become a nutrition coach which sound similar to a health coach, do you have any tips for studying or the most important concepts to take away? I am so nervous about taking the test since there are no study guides!

    • Nice! That’s so awesome! Honestly, my company does their own training and certification, so I’m not sure what would be on other tests. I’m thinking of getting the ACE Health Coach certification though, so I might be right there with you πŸ™‚ I know with my job, most people need the basics. Going into too much depth rarely happens. So make sure you’ve got the basics down solid!

  3. I agree with all of them especially #5. I always hear others say, “oh I just don’t have time”. I know I always feel 110% better after I exercise, whether it be a long walk, run or yoga. Great Post!

  4. I LOVE that quote and SO agree with #5. I always hear people ask how I fit in a workout, blogging, cooking, etc. The fact is simple – we all have the same hours in the day and it’s OUR choice on how we use them. Some days I get up at 5:30 to work out and then spend my after work hours (7 p.m.-11 p.m.) to food prep, blog, etc. It doesn’t happen every day. And I’d be lying if I didn’t find myself saying, at least once a week, “There aren’t enough hours in a day!”

  5. I have been preaching #3 for years … it’s the same people who don’t understand why their bodies don’t chance. Dedicating time to working out, outside of other physical events, is SO important!

  6. Great tips! I had heard recently that nutritionists and doctors agreed certain drinks can replace water, like teas or healthy smoothies, can count toward water consumption, and that 64 oz of plain water wasn’t really necessary. Is that wrong?? Now I’m all confused!

  7. Awesome post! I hate when I’m talking about my long runs and people say to me “Well I’m too busy to run” as if I’m some sort of magical person that isn’t busy. Um, no. That Beyonce quote is awesome though! And I fall victim to #1, I don’t drink enough water but I’m trying to fix that!

Please feel free to leave a comment

