Meeting Rascal Flatts

Yesterday I went to the gym before work. I wanted to run a couple of miles but was only about to do one. And even that was a lot. A half mile in my foot was hurting so very badly. The pain started to go away by the time I hit one mile and I thought I could probably go longer but decided not to push it. I then went and did a half hour work out on that swishy machine that is like an elliptical but the arms don’t move. You know which one I’m talking about? Anyway, it works me!! I was so sweaty by the time I was done with it!

Well, then I was getting ready for work and thinking about how I didn’t have anything cool to write about on the blog for today when I got a text from my mom saying she had an exciting possibility and to call her. Rascal Flatts was coming to my dad’s work (he’s in radio) and could I get work off to come down to a meet and greet?!

IMG_3932

Um, yeah I was sure going to try to make it!! Luckily, my supervisor is pretty chill and let me go! So after a short Q&A session, I got to walk up, shake their hands, and take a picture with them. Unfortunately, they were running late to make their flight, so we didn’t have time for autographs. Bummer. Still way cool to meet them!!

IMG_3938

I got asked by one of my dad’s coworkers if I was 16 years old. Hmm. I know I look young, but 9 years younger?! Come on, people. At least tell me I look old enough to be out of high school! Haha! We had a good laugh over that one!

Check out this fog we had going on last night. Some parts were really thick and I couldn’t see much when I was on my way home. Don’t worry though. I made it home in one piece. And yes, that’s a car totally running a red light, as you can see our light had just turned green.

IMG_3939

Sooo…my friend and I are trying to go to Europe this summer!! We’ve never been and we’re thinking London and Paris for 10 days total. However, we don’t really know where to start with the planning!! So please, if you have any recommendations on airlines, where to stay, things we ABSOLUTELY need to see, let me know! We need all the help we can get. I’m so excited though. We need to start booking things asap!

Favorite band/style of music? I love country!!

Do people tell you that you look older or younger than your age?

London/Paris/Europe travel advice??? 

2 days til 25!!!!

13 thoughts on “Meeting Rascal Flatts

  1. Okay, Europe. I’ve done it a couple of times so here are my tips:

    1. Start looking for flights now. It really is worth it to fly into one city (maybe London?) and fly out of another (Paris?).

    2. They don’t use the same currency and the currency exchange places will only take paper money, so be sure to use up as many of the coins as possible before you leave.

    3. A lot of the touristy things in London close wicked early (like 3 or 4 pm) so pick a few each day and spread them out. See all the normal tourist things but be sure to check out the Royal Mews where they keep the carriages and horses for the royals. It is really awesome.

    4. Get a London Pass with transit pass. It’s worth it.

    5. Day tours outside of the city are fun. I did one to Stonehenge/Bath. Plus you get to see the wonderful countryside.

    6. Paris – see all the typical things. The Lourve is free the first Sunday of the month (or at least it was 6 years ago), but it is really really busy so it might be worth it to shell out the euro to see it on another day. Amazing art in there!

    7. Charles de Gaulle airport is massive. Warning.

    8. So is Heathrow. Bring your walking shoes.

    9. Use a backpack instead of suitcases. So much easier when you are navigating crowds and getting on trains and such.

    10. Maybe take the train from London to Paris? Flights can be cheap in Europe (flew from London to Edinburgh for like $30) but they can get you with fees. Checked luggage is priced on kilos so remember to do the math. Sometimes they even charge for carryons.

    I’m sure I will think of more. Feel free to email me!

  2. I’m obsessed with Matt Nathanson, but I love country music in general, too. People always tell me that I look younger than I am. Shortly after I turned 21, I went out with my mom and some of her co-workers. I ordered a drink, and this woman we were with says “I know your ID says you’re 21, but how old are you really?” Seriously!? She thought I was using a fake ID in front of my mother!

    I’m going to Europe too and looking for all the advice I can get. Maybe we’ll be in the same places at the same time 😉

  3. Wow that’s so awesome that you got to meet them! I love country music so much, especially in the summer . I’m 23 and went back to my old high school for an event and someone asked if I was a senior. So…..yeah haha I know the feeling.

  4. So jealous that you got to meet Rascal Flatts – they are one of my favorite bands. People usually think that I am older than I really am. When I was 10 we were dropping my older sister off and college and in the registration office someone started talking to me like I was the one starting college – so funny!

    My hubby and I went to Europe a year and a half ago and did London, Paris, and Italy in 15 days. That was a little much for that short amount of time so I definitely recommend just sticking with London & Paris for one trip. There are so many things that I could say about planning a trip but the most important ones would be…

    1. Buy the London & Paris Passes and scout out ahead of time how you want to use them. That way you get your money’s worth and maximize what you get out of the passes (http://www.londonpass.com/ & http://www.parispass.com/)

    2. Take the underground train from London to Paris (or vice versa)

    3. Try the local cuisine! We had the best fish & chips and pasties in London and amazing crepes in Paris! Soooo good!

    4. We went in the middle of June and it was actually still pretty cold in London and Paris. If you want it to feel like summer weather I would suggest going in July or early August… or late August when kids are starting to be in school again and there are less families on vacation 😉

    5. Check out StudentUniverse.com for good deals on flights! We got ours for $700 each round trip which is pretty good!

    Okay, so that was more than a few but I hope they help a little!

  5. I love country too! I am a huge zac brown band fan! People always think I look like I’m 12 when I am actually 21 so I feel your pain! I’ve been to both London and Paris, I would have to say make sure you go on the London eye it was one of the coolest things! I loved it, not to mention it is great for picture taking! In Paris make sure you have more than one day! I only had one day and didn’t get to see everything! I would suggest not spending so much time on the famous shopping road (it is all way expensive and although cool to look at) but there are so many little cool stores to be found!

  6. I have seen them in concert and LOVE them!!
    I really love anything, besides hard metal rock (like screaming) and rap. YUCK!
    I aways get that I am younger! I am 24 and I’m asked what year I am in HIGH SCHOOL all. the. time.

Please feel free to leave a comment

